Library Research pt. 1: Radical Feminism - Scholarly Resources and Radical Spaces - WMST3535: Feminist Media Praxis

Journals and Databases for Radical Feminism

Scholar & Feminst Online - BCRW
S&F Online, a triannual, multimedia, peer-reviewed, online-only journal of feminist theories and women’s movements established in 2003. The journal provides public access to the Barnard Center for Research on Women’s most innovative programming by providing written transcripts, audio and visual recordings, and links to relevant intellectual and social action network
Siren: An Anarcho-Feminist Review
This publication had limited distribution at the time, but an outsized legacy. Published by an anarcho-feminist collective in Chicago, these bulletins confronted authoritarianism in the feminist movement, and chauvinism in the anarchist movement. The members of the collective were active participants in the local anarchist community
The Herstory Collection
The Herstory Collection comprises full texts of journals, newspapers, and newsletters tracing the evolution of women's rights movements in the United States and abroad from 1956 to 1974. Compiled by the Women's History Library from materials donated by the organizations that published them, the collection includes documents from the National Organization of Women (NOW), Daughters of Bilitis (DOB), Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF), Women Strike for Peace (WSP), and many other groups.
Signs : journal of women in culture and society
Recognized as the leading international journal in women’s and gender studies, Signs is at the forefront of new directions in feminist scholarship.
GLQ: Journal of Gay and Lesbian Studies Quarterly
scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. Its aim is to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
document projects, additional full-text documents, and primary authors. It includes as well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. This edition also includes the Women's Commission reports collection, an archive of the publications and documents of local, state, and federal Commissions on the Status of Women from 1963 to the present.
Radical History Review
This journal address issues of gender, race, sexuality, imperialism, and class, stretching the boundaries of historical analysis to explore Western and non-Western histories.
Journal of Lesbian Studies
examines the cultural, historical, and interpersonal impact of the lesbian experience on society,
Transgender Studies Quarterly
A venue for innovative research and scholarship that contest the objectification, pathologization, and exoticization of transgender lives.

WGSS Specific/Related Databases

Alternative Press Index
More than 300 alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
Alternative Press Index Archive
Index of journals (1969-1990) covering cultural, economic, political & social change."
"Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects
Contemporary Women's Issues
Provides full text access to information about women in over 190 countries, including journal and magazine articles, research reports, and fact sheets.
Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database, produced by National Information Services Corporation (NISC), combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
GenderWatch
This database includes full text works from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports from 1970 to present.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
LGBTQ+ Source
Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs; also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus with over 6,400 terms. Contains indexing and abstracts for GLBT-specific core periodicals and GLBT-specific core books and reference works. Indexes important historical GLBT publications, including ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, The Advocate, Christopher Street, Body Politic, The New York Native, and much more. Includes some monographs and reference books, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, and speeches.
Project Muse
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

For a more complete list of electronic databases for women's and gender studies, check Columbia's Databases: Social Sciences list.

If you have a particular journal that you want to access electronically, enter the title in CLIO. In the "Limit To" box below the "Search" field, select "All Electronic Resources," then click the search button. If we have an online subscription or database access, one or more links will be provided in the record.

WMST3535: Feminist Media Praxis

Liam Adler, WGSS Librarian

Radical Spaces, Radical Resources, Radical Histories

Local Resources- Barnard Columbia

Journals and Databases for Radical Feminism

WGSS Specific/Related Databases

Feminist Manifesto's