LibGuides: HIST 3692: Anarchism: A Global History (Fall 2023): Alternative Publications and Presses

Image: Cover of Anarchy 118. https://libcom.org/article/anarchy-118-meaning-work-today-and-tomorrow

Alternative Press Resources

Newspapers, pamphlets, newsletters and zines have always been important ways that groups outside the mainstream have disseminated information. These publications were created and published by individuals or by alternative, independent, or underground presses and some can be found digitized and accessible online or as part of library special collections and/or organization archives.

There are a number of databases in CLIO that contain searchable publications from alternative/underground, or ethnic presses. The Barnard Zines collection is also an excellent resource for locating publications written by anarchists or about anarchism.

Here are a few useful sites to browse titles of alt press publications and to learn more about collections in general:

Alternative Press Center (https://www.altpress.org/)
NYU Fales Library Special Collections and Zines Collection
Barnard Zines Library (https://zines.barnard.edu/)

Independent Newspapers and Zines

Anarchy Magazine
Anarchist monthly magazine produced in London from March 1961 until December 1970.
Sprout Distro
Anarchist zine distro (distributor) and publisher based in the occupied territory currently known as the United States. Zines are distributed through the site as a way of contributing to the increased proliferation of anarchist projects and resistance.
Freedom Anarchist Newspaper
1,543 issues is online so far featuring examples in every decade. Some keyword searchable.
The Rag
The Rag - Tables of Contents
Tables of Contents of all issues (1966-1977)
The Rag Blog

Independent Presses

AK Press
Worker-run. Collectively-managed. Anarchist publishing and distribution since 1990.
Freedom Press
An anarchist publishing house and bookseller in Whitechapel, London, United Kingdom, founded in 1886.

Digitized Collections

Library of Congress Anarchism Collection
In 1977 the Library acquired through exchange and purchase nearly 1,400 books, pamphlets, serial issues, and ephemeral items relating to the study of anarchy. These publications were printed between the 1850s and the 1970s primarily for the French, German, Italian, Russian, Spanish, and Yiddish-speaking communities within the United States. While touching upon many political and social issues, the collection focuses on the history and philosophy of anarchism and the lives and writings of its major proponents. Of particular interest are pamphlets documenting the beliefs and activities of local organizations and short-lived movements.
Mapping American Social Movements
This project produces and displays free interactive maps showing the historical geography of dozens of social movements that have influenced American life and politics since the late 19th century, including radical movements, civil rights movements, labor movements, women's movements, and more.
Libcom Anarchism Collections
libcom.org is an online platform featuring a variety of libertarian communist essays, blog posts, and archives, primarily in English.
The Anarchist Library
An online archive focusing on anarchism and anarchist texts.

CLIO Resources

Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, journals of the alternative and independent press. Includes titles such as Anarcho-Syndicalist Review, Chicago Reader, Dissent, Off Our Backs, Poverty and Race.
Alternative Press Index
More than 300 alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
Alternative Press Index Archive
Index of journals (1969-1990) covering cultural, economic, political & social change."
"Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Provides alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
Independent Voices
A four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
Political Extremism and Radicalism
Contains primary source material with an extensive scope of content focused on political extremism and radical thought covering a broad assortment of both far-right and radical left political groups. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera, which allow researchers to explore unorthodox social and political movements in new and innovative ways and to understand the impact they have had on today's society.

Primary Sources