Finding Articles - PHIL 4050 - Senior Thesis Seminar (FALL 2023)

Database Searching

CLIO Database Searching

You can browse Columbia's database by discipline or resource type.

Click on the CLIO logo with an empty search box
Select "Databases" from the left navigation
You should see the window below
Use the "All Disciplines" drop-down menu to search for a particular subject area (example: arts, architecture and applied arts.)
Use the "All Resource Types" menu to search for databases by type (such as encyclopedias, maps, newspapers, sound recordings, etc.).

Suggested General Academic Databases

ProQuest Research Library
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, primarly peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts fof more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings.. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Indexes world's leading arts and humanities journals with selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals.
Humanities Full Text
Brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.

Philosophy Databases

PhilPapers: philosophical research online
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. Monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages.
Philosopher's Index
Index with abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. It covers the major fields of philosophy, including aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, and the philosophy of releted fields such as education, history, law and religion.
POIESIS
The full text of hundreds of issues of participating philosophy journals may be searched. Every word (unique character string) is fully indexed and search results find every paragraph containing the search term.
Past Masters
Provides access to complete editions or selections from classics in philosophy, political science, and economics. Several searchable full-text collections of writings by key philosophers and thinkers from ancient times to the present, including Anselm, Aristotle, Augustine, Bentham, Berkeley, Calvin, Nicholas of Cusa, Descartes, John Dewey, Hegel, Hobbes, Hume, Leibniz, Locke, Luther, Mill, Nietzche, Peirce, Plato, Ricardo, Rousseau, Adam Smith, Thomas Aquinas, Wittgenstein and many others.