LibGuides: WMST 3512 Art/Work: Sex, Aesthetics, and Capitalism: Finding Information: Sex, Art, Capitalism

Art, Sex, Feminism: Radical Journals, Websites, and Databases

Journal of curatorial studies
International, peer-reviewed publication that explores the cultural functioning of curating and its relation to exhibitions, institutions, audiences, aesthetics and display culture.
On Curating
The journal is independent with focus on curating both on the web and in print. Based out of Zurich.
Paper Monument
a non-profit art press intent on presenting smart, serious writing that is accessible to a wide audience. Through our books and journal of contemporary art, we explore topics often overlooked by mainstream journalism
eflux
A publishing platform and archive, an artist project, and a curatorial platform and space for theoretical discourses contemporary art and culture. Founded in 1998.
$pread
Articles were written by readers as well as by figures from academic, cultural, and literary backgrounds, most of whom were current or former sex workers. The magazine was launched on March 15, 2005
*Located in Barnard Library's Feminist Periodicals Collection.
Sex Work: Articles in New York Magazine
See an archive of all sex work stories published on the New York Media network, which includes NYMag, The Cut, Vulture, and Grub Street.
Radical History Review
Radical History Review
This journal address issues of gender, race, sexuality, imperialism, and class, stretching the boundaries of historical analysis to explore Western and non-Western histories.
Catalyst Journal
Our focus is to develop a theory and strategy with capitalism as its target — both in the North and in the Global South. It is an ambitious agenda, but this is a time for thinking big.
Scholar & Feminst Online - BCRW
Published by Barnard Center for Research on Women (BCRW), S&F Online is a triannual, multimedia, peer-reviewed, online journal of feminist theories and women’s movements. Established in 2003.
Siren: An Anarcho-Feminist Review
Published by an anarcho-feminist collective in Chicago, these bulletins confronted authoritarianism in the feminist movement, and chauvinism in the anarchist movement. The members of the collective were active participants in the local anarchist community

Art and Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
ARTbibliographies Modern
ABM provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.

Art Libraries and Art Muesum Library Collections

MoMA
he Museum of Modern Art Library is a comprehensive collection devoted to modern and contemporary art.
Avery Archtecture & Fine Arts Library (Columbia)
Avery Library's Research Collections contain books and periodicals on architecture, historic preservation, art history, painting, sculpting, graphic arts, decorative arts, city planning, real estate, and archaeology, from all areas of the world and covering all time periods.
Brooklyn Muesum Library
One of the largest and oldest art museum libraries in the country. Developed to encourage understanding of the Museum’s collections. Particularly strong in the arts of Africa, the Americas, Asia, ancient Egypt, and the Islamic World
Whitney Muesum Library
The Frances Mulhall Achilles Library at the Whitney Museum of American Art is a comprehensive research collection in the field of twentieth-century and contemporary American art.
The Guggenheim Museum Library and Archives
Primary and secondary research resources that inform the museum’s exhibitions and acquisitions as well as document its history. Select collections are open to qualified scholars and researchers by advance appointment.
Bard Center for Curitorial Studies Library
one of the foremost contemporary art research collections in the United States focusing on post-1960s contemporary art, curatorial practice, exhibition histories, theory and criticism. The Library’s main collection houses extensive holdings of international exhibition publications and artists’ monographs supporting the in-depth study of artists represented in the permanent collection

Databases for General interdisciplinary Research

ProQuest Central
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).
Project Muse
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, primarly peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts fof more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings.. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided.

WMST 3512 Art/Work: Sex, Aesthetics, and Capitalism

Images

(Books on) Sex Work at Barnard

Liam

HQ71!

Art, Sex, Feminism: Radical Journals, Websites, and Databases

Art Libraries and Art Muesum Library Collections

Databases for General interdisciplinary Research