LibGuides: ARCH 3117: Modern Architecture in the World: Articles

Architecture Databases

Avery Index

Avery Index, which is created and maintained by Avery Library, indexes scholarly output in architecture and adjacent fields. Because it is an index you will find references to articles in academic journals, magazines, and trade publications, which may not be digitized.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
EBSCO: Created by Avery Library, this database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Full text articles are linked to through e-link. The database also includes indexing of foreign and hard to find journals. The EBSCO version includes Avery Library call numbers.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
PROQUEST: Providing the same citations offered in the Ebsco version (see above), the Proquest instance of Avery Index updates more frequently than EBSCO, and offers easy access to other Proquest journal databases and its full suite of newspaper holdings.

Other Discipline-Specific Collections

Art and Architecture Source
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
British Architectural Library Catalogue
Catalog of books, journals, drawings, photographs, slides, manuscripts, audio-visual and other material in the British Architectural Library, and an index to many architectural periodicals. Includes a biographical database of British architects.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
DAAI's periodical index covers articles from 1973 to the present. It contains annotated references to articles in design and craft journals and covers both new designers and the development of design and applied arts since the mid-19th century.

E-Flux
e-flux is a publishing platform and archive, artist project, curatorial platform, and enterprise which was founded in 1998. Its news digest, events, exhibitions, schools, journal, books, and the art projects produced and/or disseminated by e-flux describe strains of critical discourse surrounding contemporary art, culture, and theory internationally. Its monthly publication e-flux journal has produced essays commissioned since 2008 about cultural, political, and structural paradigms that inform contemporary artistic production.

General Research

CLIO Articles+
Searches across many databases of mostly full-text journals, encyclopedia and newspaper articles; this also includes e-books and government documents.
Newspaper articles are excluded from the initial search results. To include them, click the 'x' next to "Not Content Type: Newspaper Articles" above the search results.
Google Scholar
You can use Google Scholar to search the open web for scholarship. One of its strengths is "Cited By" feature, which allows you to search for articles that cited a particular work you are interested in.

JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.

Even more databases:

There are even more databases in this discipline to explore. Follow this link for articles and other resources in Art, Architecture and Applied Arts.

Using Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

About Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

(Scope: Nineteenth century to present with some citations as old as 1741)

Avery Index is the most comprehensive databases for finding articles in the field of architecture. It is maintained by our own Avery Library, one of the largest architecture libraries in the world. Other topics covered by Avery index include archaeology, landscape architecture, interior design, decorative arts, garden history, historic preservation, urban planning and design, real estate development and environmental studies. Because this databases is so comprehensive, it is your best bet when conducting research in architecture and adjacent fields.

For more information:

Searching in Avery Index

You can access Avery Index through two vendors- each with strengths and weaknesses.

Ebsco

Advantage: Avery Library call numbers can be found at the bottom of the record
Disadvantage: You must put each search term in a separate search box

Proquest

Advantage: You can put multiple search terms in a single search box
Advantage: The database updates more frequently than Ebsco
Disadvantage: Avery Library call numbers are not included in the record

When searching both databases you may notice that one or the other returns more results. This is due to the frequency of updating on the part of Proquest and Ebsco. They receive the same index data.

Finding Print Journals at Avery

Many of the articles cited in Avery Index are not available in digital form. For these, you need to go to one of two locations. Current print journals can be found on the 200 level of Avery Library in room 222. Older periodicals can be found on the 100 level of Avery, which is located below ground.