Research Tools & Databases - RELI 4002 - Curating Islam in New York City

ArchNet
ArchNet is an international Online community for architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, and scholars developed at the MIT School of Architecture and Planning and the University of Texas at Austin, School of Architecture, in close cooperation with, and with the full support of The Aga Khan Trust for Culture, an agency of the Aga Khan Development Network. ArchNet seeks to enable participants to learn how to enhance the quality of the built environment in their communities; to compensate for a lack of resources at their academic institutions; to honor the rich legacy of their cultures; and to celebrate the humanistic traditions of Islam. Free membership/registration is needed in order to use some workspaces.
ARTstor
Please note that Artstor will be merging with Jstor as of 08/01/2024.

Artstor is a searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data from museum, archives, galleries and libraries from around the globe. ARTstor documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

Casselman Archive of Islamic and Mudejar Architecture in Spain
This collection contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain taken by the late Eugene Casselman (1912-1996) during his thirty years of travel throughout the Iberian peninsula. The images span over one thousand years of architectural history, from the seventh to the seventeenth century.
more...less...
from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Archival Collections

Digitized Collections

HOLLIS Images
HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. Access to the catalog is open to the general public.
Archnet
Open access resource on architecture, urbanism, environment and landscape design, conservation issues, vistual and material cultures, and related topics.
Islamic Heritage Project
A digital collection of Islamic manuscripts, published texts, and maps from across Harvard's libraries and museums
Pattern in Islamic Art
Images, drawings, diagrams and analyses, and essays on pattern and decorative art in the Islamic world.

Secondary Sources

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Indexes world's leading arts and humanities journals with selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
"Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. . . Coverage in this database begins in 1949 although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century. In ATLASerials, full text is provided for more than 380,000 electronic articles and book reviews from more than 220 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States." Includes Catholic periodical and literature index (CPLI)
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Created by Avery Library at Columbia University, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is the leading source for architectural research.
BHA and RILA
A comprehensive bibliographical database of scholarly writing about the history of western art, containing "abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues." The abstracts may be in English or in French, and index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French. BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
International index to over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops and firms. DAAI also includes two supplementary databases: Education Directory, an international directory of universities and colleges that offer courses in design and craft subjects and the Periodical Directory, an international directory of design and craft journals. Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews.
EBSCOhost research databases
Allows you to search simultaneously across more than one hundred databases in a variety of fields. Includes key databases in Art, Architecture, Business, History, Education, Psychology, Religion, Social Sciences, and Science.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
International Bibliography of Art is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). The database includes detailed abstracts for all new content, in-depth abstracts for scholarly articles, and authority files of controlled terms. Together, these provide detailed, high quality records to direct researchers to most important information in the field.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
Project Muse
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

RELI 4002 - Curating Islam in New York City

Librarian for History and the Humanities

Free Subscription to the New York Times!

Free Digital Subscription to the New York Times!

Times Machine

Digitized Collections

Secondary Sources