LibGuides: WMST BC4325: Embodiment and Bodily Difference: Citation & the Politics of Citatation

Citation

Citation Justice

Citation Practices Challenge
A yearlong challenge (2015-2016) organized by Eve Tuck, K. Wayne Yang, and Rubén Gaztambide-Fernández to urge us to critically reflect on the way we approach referencing the work of others and counter the erasure of Indigenous, Black, brown, trans*, disabled POC, QT*POC, feminist, activist, and disability/crip contributions from our intellectual genealogies..
Cite Black Women.
A movement that engages with social media and aesthetic representation in order to push people to critically rethink the politics of knowledge production by engaging in a radical praxis of citation that acknowledges and honors Black women’s transnational intellectual production.
Gender Balance Assessment Tool (GBAT)
Women are cited less often than men, and are also underrepresented in syllabi. Yet even well-meaning scholars may find that they have difficulty assessing how gender-balanced their bibliographies and syllabi really are. This tool aims to help with that, by automating the process of evaluating the (probabilistic) gender of each name and then providing an estimate of what percentage of the authors on a syllabus are women.
The Importance of Citational Justice
Video tutorial and instructor's guide created by the University of Arizona Libraries.
Citational Politics - Civic Laboratory for Environmental Action Research (CLEAR)
CLEAR has a Citational Politics portal that includes a blog post series, teaching module, and bibliography.
Citational Politics - Pratt Institute Libraries
Video and bibliography to learn more about the politics of citation.

Citation Reference

Chicago Manual of Style, 18th ed.Chicago Manual of Style has full details on citing primary & archival material in Chicago style. You can also the style guide in print.
MLA Citiation Style: An overview that should help you better understand how to cite sources using MLA 9th edition, including how to format the Works Cited page and in-text citations.
Barnard's guide to Citation Management Software: An in depth guide developed by Barnard Librarians exploring the citation management tools Zotero, Endnote, and Mendely

What is Zotero?

Zotero is a free citation management program that helps you collect and organize your research information.

It can help you build personal library of source information from articles, books, documents, web pages, and more. This personal library of sources can work with your word processing tool to format a paper in your choice of style.

Save citations from databases, web sites, and library catalogs
Manage, tag, and organize citations into collections
Cite sources as you write and create reference lists in a wide variety of styles (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago, ASA, Vancouver, etc.)
Attach PDFs, images, web page snapshots, reading notes, and more to citations in your collection
Share Zotero libraries with others using Zotero groups
Mark up PDFs and EPUBs with highlights, notes, and image annotations

How Do I Get Zotero?

Zotero can be used on the web (with a free account), but we highly recommend you can download the free, open-source software (for Mac, Windows, and Linux) and the browser extensions (for Google Chrome, Firefox and Safari [not currently well supported].
Be sure to register for a free account and sync your account to your desktop app.
Zotero also provides word processor plugins for Microsoft Word on Mac and Windows, LibreOffice, and Google docs. The plugins will automatically appear as Zotero toolbars next time you open Word or Google Docs after installing the Zotero app.

WMST BC4325: Embodiment and Bodily Difference

Selecting a Tool

Liam Adler, WGSS Librarian

Citation

What is Zotero?

How Do I Get Zotero?