LibGuides: Italian Studies: Articles

Strategies for Finding Articles

From a Citation

Suppose you are trying to locate a specific article starting from a citation (ideally, one with the article's title, author(s), place of publication and date of publication). In that case, there are a few different ways you might go about your search:

Use CLIO Articles Search to search for the article by title. If the library's subscriptions give access to the article in full text, you should see a link that will lead you to the article.
If the CLIO Articles Search does not lead you to the article, try the CLIO Catalog Search to search for the library's holdings of the periodical in which the article is published. This search will show you both print and digital holdings of journals, magazines, and other serials in which articles are published.
If neither of the above searches leads you to the article you are looking for, try requesting a digital scan of the article using Interlibrary Loan. Make sure that you indicate the title, author, and inclusive page numbers you'll need (Note: You can also request book chapter scans using ILL).

From a Topic/ Question/ Keywords

If you are looking for articles in conversation with a specific topic:

Try CLIO Articles for a really broad/ general search.
Use a database (see below for many relevant examples) to hone in your search within a specific body of literature and/or specific area of publishing.

Finding Articles: Databases with a Broad/General Scope

EBSCOhost research databases
Allows you to search simultaneously across more than one hundred databases in a variety of fields. Includes key databases in Art, Architecture, Business, History, Education, Psychology, Religion, Social Sciences, and Science.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
MLA International Bibliography

Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
ProQuest Research Library

This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).

Specialized Databases for Italian Studies Research

AIDA : articoli italiani di periodici accademici = Bibliography of Italian periodical literature

Citation database containing journal articles from Italian academic journals covering the humanities and social sciences, classified using the Basis Classification in German and Italian
Bibliografia generale della lingua e della letteratura italiana
Searchable online database of bibliographic information on Italian language and literature, including editions of texts, critical and historical studies, philological-linguistic notes, essays, monographs, reviews and bibliographic reviews, and various other materials.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)

The bibliography provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 ; Visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields; Scholarship from at least 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues; Very international coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications (principally German, French, Italian and Spanish).
Italinemo : riviste di italianistica nel mondo
Abstracting and Index to journals in Italian studies in the world; detailed description of each periodical. Bibliographic database containing abstracts of articles from Italian and international journals that focus on Italian literary and cultural studies.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

For eBooks: Iter, University of Toronto Libraries : Other Voice in Early Modern Europe: The Toronto Series & Iter : Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance migrated to database "Scholars Portal Books: Iter"
Torrossa: Casalini Full Text Platform

Online resource offering full text access to Italian and Spanish books, conference proceedings, and journals by major Italian and Spanish publishers. Torrossa includes material previously available through Editoria Italiana online.