LibGuides: Italian Studies: Primary Source Research

Digital Collections

ArchiveGrid
Includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more from over 1,000 different archival institutions. Search all collections by keyword, or find archives by location (scroll down the list on the home page and locate archives by country).

ARTstor
Artstor is a searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data from museum, archives, galleries and libraries from around the globe. ARTstor documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

Europeana
presents a searchable collection of image, text, sound, and video from libraries, museum, archives, and special collections in Europe.
European Library
allows you to search, browse, and in many cases full access the resources of 49 different European national libraries. Objects include books, magazines, newspapers, journals, and audio recordings.

HathiTrust Digital Library
As a digital repository for the nation's great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Library of Congress
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Digital Dante
Digital Dante is the result of a collaboration between Columbia University's Department of Italian and two units of the Columbia Libraries: Humanities & History and Digital Scholarship (formerly CDRS). The site includes Italian text and English translations of the Divine Comedy, complete with original commentary by Professor Teodolinda Barolini; A library of Dante's other works in their original language and, sometimes, in translation; An innovative Intertextual Dante platform that enables users to trace intertextuality in Dante and Ovid's works; Unique illustrations of Dante's work drawn from 15th- and 16th-century editions held in Columbia's Rare Book and Manuscript Library; Digital projects, including original animations and recordings of sestina readings by Columbia students; Secondary scholarship on Dante's life and works

New York City Papers at NYPL (Non-English Language)
This link provides an overview of the Library's collection of New York City newspapers
Italian-American Newspapers in CLIO
This link connects you to a subject search for Italian-American newspapers.