LibGuides: Italian Studies: Streaming Media in Italian

Streaming Media Collections

The Criterion Collection
Since 1984, the Criterion Collection, a continuing series of important classic and contemporary films, has been dedicated to gathering the greatest award-winning early cinema, foreign cinema and Hollywood films from around the world. The foundation of the collection is the work of such masters of cinema as Renoir, Godard, Kurosawa, Cocteau, Fellini, Bergman, Tarkovsky, Hitchcock, Fuller, Lean, Kubrick, Lang, Sturges, Dreyer, Eisenstein, Ozu, Sirk, Buñuel, Powell and Pressburger. Each film is presented uncut, as its maker intended it to be seen.
Independent world cinema: classic and contemporary film
includes more than 400 of the most important films produced from the early 20th century to today. It proudly turns the spotlight on preeminent independent distributors--Milestone Films, Zeitgeist Films, Pragda, and Oscilloscope. More than just a cinema studies collection, these films support disciplines, such as cultural history, psychology, gender studies, anthropology, theatre, African- American studies, and more.
Projectr
"Projectr partners with educational institutions and public libraries throughout North America to present a curated and ever-expanding collection of acclaimed movies, archival restorations, award-winning documentaries and artist-made works from around the world."
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with the largest academic streaming collection of its kind, including many major motion pictures. Columbia and Barnard license individual titles through Swank for course reserves. Each college has separate links and separate libraries of films.

Check both the Barnard AND Columbia links via CLIO, since both libraries have different videos in Swank.
World Cinema Video Collection
The World cinema video collection provides access to online streaming titles from Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East, including films from the silent era, from the mid-20th century, as well as award-winning contemporary works.