LibGuides: AMST BC 2001: Third World Studies: Community Analysis

Community Analysis Workshop

Finding Data
Workshop Documents

Who? Who might be interested in and able to collect the data you would like to find? Who might be required to make it publicly available? Who might be willing to share it voluntarily?
- Which of these data collectors do you think will provide you the data that you need at no cost?
  - Government agencies
  - Inter-governmental organizations
  - Non-governmental organizations/non-profit organizations
  - Academic researchers
  - Think tanks/policy institutes
  - Community organizations
  - Private companies
When? Are you looking for current or historical data? Historical data from the same organization might be stored in a different database or data repository than current data. Older data and statistics might be only available in print form.
Where? At what geographic level are you interested in studying - neighborhood, city, county, state, region, country, continent, world? What organizations or individuals might collect and share data at that geographic level

Adopted from Jennie Correa's social science data and statistics guide

Community Analysis Notes Doc

Google Doc Version - Community Analysis Notes

Health Indicators Table

Google Doc Version: Health Indicators Table

New York City Community Data: By Catagory

NYC Population factfinder
New York City Population FactFinder (NYC PFF) is a discovery portal for sample U.S. Census and American Community Survey data. Data is available at the census tract or Neighborhood Tabulation Area level.
New York City Open Data
NYC Open Data makes the wealth of public data generated by various New York City agencies and other City organizations available for public use.
Neighborhood Data Profiles (NYC)
From the NYU Furman Center for Real Estate and Urban Policy
Citydata.com
"By collecting and analyzing data from a variety of government and private sources, we're able to create detailed, informative profiles for every city in the United States."
Community Planning
DCP engages communities to develop inclusive plans and studies that incorporate a range of perspectives, align local and citywide needs, enhance the built environment and public space, and address historic inequities.
NYC Community Planning Resouces
Use our digital tools to explore open data, including who lives here and where, land use decisions are shaping our city, housing and economic trends, and more.
Asian American Federation Data Center
This Data Center aims to bridge critical information gaps and provide a first-of-its-kind platform for in-depth analysis on the Asian American community.

NYS Labor Data
The New York State Department of Labor provides data and statistics on employment/unemployment, earnings, industries, and employers/firms for the New York City Region.

Community District Health Profiles
EpiQuery
This resources from the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene is an interactive tools designed to provide users with health data from a variety of surveys and sources.

Data Dashboard from the Department of Homeless Services

GIS.NY.GOV
Spatial data clearinghouse for all state and county agencies. NOTE: much of this disparate collection is password protected and may require an appointment with DSSC staff for access. Contact us at data@library.columbia.edu
NYPL Map Division
NYPL Map Division - Digital Collections
Bites of the Big Apple
Portal for the geographic datasets provided by the NYC Planning Departments. extensive open data sets for all your NYC analysis, mapping, and reporting needs.
Cornell University Geospatial Information Repository (CUGIR)
Online data and metadata repository and a participating node in the National Spatial Data Infrastructure program.

NYC Election Atlas

Untied States: Data and Statistics

Data.census.gov
This is the platform for accessing recent Census Bureau data.
Data.gov
Browse data sets by topic, or search the data catalog. You can limit your results to geospatial data sets. Federal and non-federal (state, county, municipal, etc.) data sources are available.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

CDC - Vital Statistics

Voting and Registration Data - US Census

Association of Religion Data Archivs

U.S. Skills Map: State and County Indicators of Adult Literacy and Numeracy
The PIAAC Skills Map, developed by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), presents estimates of U.S. adults’ literacy and numeracy skills for all 50 states, all 3,141 counties, and the District of Columbia.

Data Rescure Project
The Data Rescue Project and their Data Rescue Portal is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. It serves as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. "We want to know what is happening in the community so that we can coordinate focus."

Global Data & Statistics

UNData

A variety of statistics for UN countries, with a focus on those reflecting the Millennium Development Goals.
Features: View tables from available data sets; exportable into Excel.
United Nations Statistics Division

The The Statistics Division compiles statistics from many international sources and produces global updates, including the Statistical Yearbook, World Statistics Pocketbook and yearbooks in specialized fields of statistics

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

ICPSR is one of the largest repositories for social science data in the world. Among the many topics covered, you will find statistics on crime, education, demographics, elections, religion, and much more.

Gender Data Portal: Data from the World Bank

AquaStat: Food and Agricultural Organization (of the US's) global information system on water resources and agricultural water management. It collects, analyses and provides free access to over 180 variables and indicators by country from 1960

FAOSTAT: From the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN, FAOSTAT is an on-line and multilingual database currently containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics related to food and agriculture

Global Administrative Areas (GADM)
Provides sub-national administrative boundaries, often to the third or fourth level, for every country.
100-meter resolution gridded population datasets for select areas.
100-meter resolution gridded population datasets for select areas.

BASEIND (BAsic Social and Economic INDicators) Database: BASEIND provides data on 256 socio-economic variables under 17 categories for the 57 Organisation of the Islamic Cooperation member countries dating back to 1970. The content of this database is regularly updated and enriched essentially on the basis of information collected from the national statistical sources.

ILOSTAT Employment & labor migration statistics from the International Labour Office (ILO)

World Bank Databank
Wide variety of statistics for countries world wide

Thinking Criticaly about Data

New Perspectives in Critical Data Studies by Andreas Hepp (Editor); Juliane Jarke (Editor); Leif Kramp (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030961794

Publication Date: 2022-05-21

This Open Access book examines the ambivalences of data power. Firstly, the ambivalences between global infrastructures and local invisibilities challenge the grand narrative of the ephemeral nature of a global data infrastructure. They make visible local working and living conditions, and the resources and arrangements required to operate and run them. Secondly, the book examines ambivalences between the state and data justice. It considers data justice in relation to state surveillance and data capitalism, and reflects on the ambivalences between an "entrepreneurial state" and a "welfare state". Thirdly, the authors discuss ambivalences of everyday practices and collective action, in which civil society groups, communities, and movements try to position the interests of people against the "big players" in the tech industry. The book includes eighteen chapters that provide new and varied perspectives on the role of data and data infrastructures in our increasingly datafied societies.

The Empirical Reasoning Center (ERC)
helps faculty, students, and alumnae engage critically with data - quantitative, qualitative and spatial.
Dencik, Lina and Sanchez-Monedero, Javier. 2022. "Data justice". Internet Policy Review 11

AMST BC 2001: Third World Studies

Data and Statisitics: Guides

Statistical Databases

Community Analysis Workshop

New York City Community Data: By Catagory

Untied States: Data and Statistics

Global Data & Statistics

Thinking Criticaly about Data