LibGuides: AMST BC 2001: Third World Studies: Media in/and the Third World

Media Websites

Democracy Now
An independent broadcast news program reporting on global affairs.
The Wire
This independent news website offers reports from India in English, Hindi, Marathi, and Urdu.
Third World News Real
Since 1968, Third World Newsreel (TWN) has advanced movement storytelling and media arts for cultural and social justice. TWN is dedicated self-representation of historically marginalized communities—through diverse genres and forms of media, such as documentary, experimental, and fiction.
Propublica
ProPublica is an independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces investigative journalism, shining a light on abuses of power and betrayals of public trust
The Intercept
"we investigate powerful individuals and institutions to expose corruption and injustice. We see journalism as an instrument of civic action. We’re here to change the world, not just describe it."

News Databases

Access World News
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily. This database combines news articles from more than 12,000 sources and over 200 countries. Much of the material in non-English languages has been translated into English, but a significant amount of material is presented in the original language.
World Newspaper Archive
Searchable collection of historical African, Latin American, and South Asian newspapers from around the world from the 19th and 20th centuries.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Contains news reports, editorials, and, with ProQuest Historical and Recent Newspapers, advertisements, stock tables, cartoons, and more. More than 3,000 of the world's news sources, such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Guardian & Observer, The Globe and Mail, The Times of India, and many more are open to discovery.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Sun (1837-1985), Boston Globe, Call and Post (1934-1991), Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), Irish Times (1859-2009), Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Scotsman (1817-1950). Every page in PDF files.
Factiva

Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including Wall Street Journal, local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors.

South Asian newspapers
South Asian Newspapers features titles published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and others. Titles include such key publications as: Amrita Bazar Patrika (Calcutta), Bankura Darpana (Bankura, India), Madras Mail (Madras), Tribune (Lahore, Pakistan) and the Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka). The collection will provide more than 400,000 fully searchable pages of newspapers published in South Asia between 1864 and 1922.
MidEastWire.com
Mideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.

allAfrica.com
Posting over 700 stories daily in English and French and offering a diversity of multi-lingual streaming programming as well as a 400.000-article searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). Fully accessible ONLY on campus.
Africa commons. Black South African magazines
Black South African Magazines brings together over 50,000 pages of extremely rare, yet historically significant magazines, written and targeted specifically for Black African audiences. Developed in partnership with Sabinet, the materials have been sourced from African libraries. Despite their broad cultural and historical value, the magazines exist in just a few physical locations and have not been digitized before. Much of the content was created by a new generation of Black journalists, writers and artists. The magazines were hugely popular, and were packed with investigative journalism, photography, fiction, reviews, biographies, fashion, lifestyle, advertisements, and more. Many of them were syndicated across the continent and contained content specifically developed for the African English-speaking world, so they provide a view of Black society across all of Africa. The database has been developed in collaboration with Sabinet, a leading publisher of African materials for libraries, with digitization taking place in Africa. Includes: Drum Magazine, 1951-1973 -- Zonk!, 1953-1964 -- Zonk! Film-Pic Photo Stories, 1963 -- Contrast: South African Literary Journal, 1960-1973 -- Hi-Note!, 1954-1957 -- Grace Magazine, 1964-1966 -- The Townships Housewife, 1968.

Latin American and Caribbean Periodicals
Searchable and browseable collection of digitized newspapers, magazines, and journals published in Latin America, ranging from the late 1800s to mid 1900s. Hosted by the UCLA Library.
Latin American Newsletters / LatinNews
Database of current news sources consisting of daily reports, weekly reports, regional reports, and more.
Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals Online
This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.

Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, journals of the alternative and independent press. Includes titles such as Anarcho-Syndicalist Review, Chicago Reader, Dissent, Off Our Backs, Poverty and Race.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
American Indian Newspapers
Presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles. Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the world.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
American Prison Newspapers bring together hundreds of prison periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Black Newspapers
Full text and full-image articles from major African American newspapers including but not limited to the Atlanta Daily World, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, and the Chicago Defender.

Critically Evaluating Infromation: PAARC Test

There is no formula for sussing out misinformation, read widely, and think critically. Check out Our Guide to Misinformation developed by librarians at Barnard and Columbia. It's a deeper dive into thinking about misinformation and media.

The box below is about the "PAARC" text. Basically, it just outlines some questions you can ask yourself about any given source. The PAARC Test was originally developed by the Meriam Library at the University of California, Chico, this information was adopted from Marianopolis Colleges' guide to guide, Performing Academic Research

An authoritative source will have a clear, unbiased reason for existing.

Are the authors’ purposes and goals clear?
Is the source trying to inform, teach, persuade, entertain, or sell a product?
Does the language and tone seem unbiased and objective, or is it subjective, emotional, and personal?
Is there evidence of bias? Does the source or publisher represent a particular point of view?
Is it possible to determine who funds the organization that produced the source? Does the author or publisher stand to gain something for the position they chose on the topic?
Are there excessive amounts of advertisements?

An authoritative source will identify its authors and their credentials.

Is the author of the text clearly indicated?
Are the author’s credentials (degree, profession, experience, etc.) indicated?
Are the author’s credentials relevant to the topic?
Does the author have any particular organizational affiliations (universities, government, etc. )?
Does the author or publisher provide any contact information (e-mail, telephone, mailing address)?
For websites: Does the URL reveal anything about the author or host (eg: .com, .edu, .org, .gc.ca)?

An authoritative source will provide reliable, correct information.

What is the source of the information provided?
Does the source provide evidence to back up its claims? Can this evidence be independently verified in other sources (references, links, etc.)?
Is the text free from spelling, grammar or typographical errors? Is the source free from factual errors?
Is there anything else suspicious about the source?
For websites: Is the host of the page clearly identified? Is the host well-known and can the host’s identity be independently verified (e.g. via Google)?
For scholarly sources: has the information been peer-reviewed?

In addition to being authoritative, a source must also be relevant to your particular needs.

Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question(s)?
Who is the intended audience? Is the text at an appropriate level for academic research?
Have you looked at a range of sources before determining this is the one you will use?
Would you be comfortable citing this source in a research paper?

The timeliness of the information provided by a source can be very important.

Is the date of publication indicated?
Is the date when the source was last revised or updated indicated? Was it updated recently?
Does your topic require current information, or will older sources work as well?
Is there more recent information on the topic, and if so does it differ from the information provided in the source you are evaluating?
For websites: are the links on the page up-to-date? Do they function properly?

AMST BC 2001: Third World Studies

Research Guides for International News and Culture

Streaming Media - Databases

Media Websites

News Databases

Critically Evaluating Infromation: PAARC Test