Contains pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, photographs, and in-depth oral histories focusing on African American culture, social conditions, and identity in Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina. Time periods covered range from 1863 to 1986.
This provides access to original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources from the Graff Collection about the American West, including tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes, and outlaws, and the growth of urban centers and the environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands.
Ancestry Library is a searchable database that includes digitized images of the United States Federal Census from 1790 forward, as well as records of births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and military service. It also includes court, land, and probate records; prison records; voter lists; obituaries; passenger lists and other immigration data; U.S. telephone directories; United Kingdom and United States Directories (1680-1830); as well as digitized yearbooks, photos, maps, and more.
ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more from over 1,000 different archival institutions. Search all collections by keyword, or find archives by location (scroll down the list on the home page and locate archives by state).
This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
Hathi Trust: Digital preservation repository and access platform for many of the United States' great research libraries, bringing together the immense collections of partner institutions. Individual items cataloged in Hathi Trust will also show up in CLIO search results.
Access corporate annual reports for selected U.S. companies from 1884 to the present. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date.
This is a fully searchable database of more than 21,000 Anglo-American legal works including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more.
The collections of digitized archival records include letters, financial records, diaries, legal records, photographs, and more. Collections relevant to this course include Slavery and the Law and Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. Includes over 6 million pages from 29,000 works.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.
If you are researching the first "great migration," you can find primary data on a sample of New Yorkers from 1900 to 1920 on this website maintained by Prof. John Logan from the Brown University sociology department. The sample includes native-born white and black residents and first- and second-generation immigrants and for many shows the neighborhood location of their residence.