Skip to Main Content 
Top Databases for Scholarly Literature, including Articles, Conference Papers, etc.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science
A cross-disciplinary resource with peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, magazines, and grey literature as well as working papers, conference papers and proceedings, in the field of agricultural research and allied disciplines, including agricultural economics; animal and veterinary sciences; aquaculture and fisheries; farming and farming systems; food and human nutrition; forestry; and plant sciences.
- BioOne
Full text articles from research journals focused on the biological, biomedical, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- BIOSIS Citation Index
Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology.
- Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
A compilation of protocols for molecular biology experimental procedures.
- Environment Complete
Includes journals, conference papers and special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations.
- GreenFILE
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment.
- JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments
The world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal.
- MEDLINE
The U.S. National Library of Medicine premier bibliographic database, containing millions of references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
There are three different interfaces to the same data: MEDLINE in EBSCOhost | MEDLINE in Ovid | MEDLINE in Web of Science.
- ProQuest
An interdisciplinary database with full-text articles and abstracts from scholarly journals, newspapers (NY Times back to 1851) and dissertations.
- SciFinder (to register, use this link: http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio6702921.999)
Provides access to the Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) databases of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, to the Registry database from CAS, and to Medline.
- Scopus
Indexing, abstracting and citation linking for journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences
- Web of Science
Scholarly articles in all disciplines, useful for finding the most highly-cited articles, for examining the references in an article, or for determining if any articles have cited a specific article or book.
