Skip to main content

Environmental Science

Finding Articles

Articles, essays, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc., can be found in databases subscribed to by Columbia University Libraries (CUL).  Barnard affiliates can access all the CUL resources, which includes over 1600 databases. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good place to start, but it has limitations. 

  • Because it's a full-text search, it can be hard to narrow down to the precise topic you're interested in.
  • You can narrow your search by specifying that your keywords are in the title, by using the advanced search or by putting allintitle: in front of the keywords.
  • Go to Settings and enable "Library Links" for Columbia University; this will make the Columbia e-Link show up in the results list so that you can easily go to the full text.

Top Databases for Scholarly Literature, including Articles, Conference Papers, etc.

  • Animal Behavior Abstracts
    Provides access to the literature on animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.  
  • BIOSIS Citation Index
  • Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology.
  • BioOne
    Full text articles from research journals focused on the biological, biomedical, ecological, and environmental sciences.
  • Environment Abstracts
    Full-text news, journals, and reference materials, as well as federal and state codes and federal agency regulations.
  • Environment Complete
    Includes journals, conference papers and special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations.
  • GreenFILE
    Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment.
  • Scopus
    Indexing, abstracting and citation linking for journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences
  • Water Resources Abstracts
    Abstracts from journals, conference proceedings and technical reports on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
  • Web of Science
    Scholarly articles in all disciplines, useful for finding the most highly-cited articles, for examining the references in an article, or for determining if any articles have cited a specific article or book.