Neuroscience & Behavior

Articles, essays, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc., can be found in databases subscribed to by Columbia University Libraries (CUL).  Barnard affiliates can access all the CUL resources, which includes over 1600 databases. 

• The best way to access a database is via CLIO.  Each database has a special URL assigned by CUL, and you need to access the database using that URL in order to be able to read the full text articles that CUL subscribes to. (For example, the URL to use for Proquest is http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio8557099, not proquest.com).
• If you're searching for an article in a journal that CUL doesn't subscribe to, request the article via the Borrow Direct/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
• For more tips, see the Database Searching Guide (from CUL)

• Google Scholar can be a helpful resource and powerful tool in locating research papers. However, it should not be the only resource consulted. Google Scholar uses artificial intelligence and proprietary algorithms to search through vast amounts of text in nearly every subject discipline. Keep in mind that other resources, such as those found in Barnard Libguides, may be more targeted and curated for researching within a particular field.

• Animal Behavior Abstracts
  Provides access to the literature on animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology.
• BIOSIS Citation Index
• Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology.
• Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
  A compilation of protocols for molecular biology experimental procedures.
• JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments
  The world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal.
• PsycINFO
  Indexes the literature of psychology and related fields.
• PubMed
  Database from the National Library of Medicine containing citations to articles in Medline (see Medline, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?), additional life science journals, and the integrated molecular biology databases included in the National Center for Biotechnology Information retrieval system (including DNA and protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, and assemblies of complete genomes)
• Scopus
  Scholarly articles in all disciplines. This database offers many ways of analysing citation counts, trends in numbers of citations over time, most influential journals, etc.
• Web of Science
  Scholarly articles in all disciplines. This database offers many ways of analysing citation counts, trends in numbers of citations over time, most influential journals, etc.