LibGuides: ENGL 3998: Late-Victorian and Modern Drama: Articles

Recommended Databases for Journal Articles & Reviews

The listed databases include both historical and modern content, scholarly articles, trade magazines, and newspapers. Each database has a description of the kind of content it contains.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Indexes world's leading arts and humanities journals with selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals.
Humanities Full Text
Brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online brings together up to 10 acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Multiple search options are combined with an engaging format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.
Literature Online (LION)
A fully searchable library of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, criticism, and key secondary sources.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Contains content from more than 210 international periodicals and also indexes articles and obituaries appearing in the New York times and the Washington post. Includes approximately 200,000 records with 90,000 from the backfile (up to 1997). Performing Arts Periodicals Database contains indexing from more than 395 journal titles – over 160 of which are available in full text - including American Theatre, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, Opera News and more. Most records contain an abstract.
ProQuest
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Contains historical coverage from major papers in the US, Europe and elsewhere. Coverage is primarily in English with a few exceptions.
Routledge Performance Archive
Contains interviews with key figures in theatre history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist actor trainers from around the world; unique footage direct from the legendary practitioners themselves; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions; and documentaries previously unavailable to global audiences. The video material spans more than fifty years of documented work direct from practitioners and specialists.

Connecting Google Scholar to Columbia's Databases

Steps to connect Google Scholar with Columbia's Databases 

Go to scholar.google.com
Click on the 3 horizontal bars in the upper left-hand corner
Click on "Settings"
Click on "Library Links" in the left-hand menu
Search for Columbia University and select "Columbia University in the City of New York - Columbia e-link >>"
Hit Save
Click the "Columbia e-link >>" to access full-text links to Columbia University Libraries' journal subscriptions.