LibGuides: FREN 3200: Advanced Translation Workshop: Getting Started

About This Guide

In this guide, you'll find resources to support research in the Advanced Translation Workshop, including:

Resources to research background and contextual information on your topic and the approaches you might be bringing to your research (see links below)
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating articles, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles
Approaches to finding primary sources
Resources for citing your sources and writing in Comparative Literature
Guidelines for getting required course texts for free via the Library

Please feel free to book an appointment with me on my calendar page, for further support with your research.

A Note on Transliteration

When getting started on searches in catalogs, databases, and other research tools with English and/or Roman script interfaces, it may be necessary to represent search words and phrases in a Romanized script (or to anticipate results in such script). The American Library Association - Library of Congress Romanization Tables are a helpful guide to standardized Library of Congress practices for Romanizing words in a number of different languages.

Reference Sources

In addition to the sources suggested below, you may search for reference sources available through the Columbia libraries, using CLIO. For reference works like dictionaries, thesauri, and bibliographies, try a Catalog Search with keywords (i.e. dictionary AND Urdu) and limit to the desired format. You can also use the Subject (Genre) box on the left side of the results page to narrow down results to a specific genre of source.

If you are interested in looking up a term, name, concept, or other keyword or phrase, try a CLIO Articles Search with the term(s) you have in mind, and once the results page appears, find the Content Type box on the left side of the screen and limit to "Reference."

A Companion to Comparative Literature by Ali Behdad (Editor); Dominic Thomas (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405198790
Publication Date: 2011-10-03
A Companion to Comparative Literature presents a collection of more than thirty original essays from established and emerging scholars, which explore the history, current state, and future of comparative literature. Features over thirty original essays from leading international contributors Provides a critical assessment of the status of literary and cross-cultural inquiry Addresses the history, current state, and future of comparative literature Chapters address such topics as the relationship between translation and transnationalism, literary theory and emerging media, the future of national literatures in an era of globalization, gender and cultural formation across time, East-West cultural encounters, postcolonial and diaspora studies, and other experimental approaches to literature and culture
Handbook of Translation Studies by Yves Gambier (Editor); Luc van Doorslaer (Editor)
ISBN: 9789027273765
Publication Date: 2010-10-28
Includes chapters covering a range of translation studies areas, among them Audiovisual Translation, Activism, Ethics and Translation, Postcolonial Literatures and Translation, and more. Concludes with a helpful subject index for searching related concepts.
The Palgrave Handbook of Literary Translation by Jean Boase-Beier (Editor); Lina Fisher (Editor); Hiroko Furukawa (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319757520
Publication Date: 2018
This Handbook offers a comprehensive and engaging overview of contemporary issues in Literary Translation research through in-depth investigations of actual case studies of particular works, authors or translators. Leading researchers from across the globe discuss best practice, problems, and possibilities in the translation of poetry, novels, memoir and theatre. Divided into three sections, these illuminating analyses also address broad themes including translation style, the author-translator-reader relationship, and relationships between national identity and literary translation. The case studies are drawn from languages and language varieties, such as Catalan, Chinese, Dutch, English, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Nigerian English, Russian, Spanish, Scottish English and Turkish. The editors provide thorough introductory and concluding chapters, which highlight the value of case study research, and explore in detail the importance of the theory-practice link. Covering a wide range of topics, perspectives, methods, languages and geographies, this handbook will provide a valuable resource for researchers not only in Translation Studies, but also in the related fields of Linguistics, Languages and Cultural Studies, Stylistics, Comparative Literature or Literary Studies.