Skip to main content

BIOL 1001: Revolutionary Concepts in Biology

Finding Articles

Articles, essays, book chapters, conference proceedings, etc., can be found in databases subscribed to by Columbia University Libraries (CUL).  Barnard affiliates can access all the CUL resources, which includes over 1600 databases. 

  • The best way to access a database is via CLIO.  Each database has a special URL assigned by CUL, and you need to access the database using that URL in order to be able to read the full text articles that CUL subscribes to. (For example, the URL to use for Proquest is http://www.columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio8557099, not proquest.com).
  • If you're searching for an article in a journal that CUL doesn't subscribe to, request the article via the Borrow Direct/Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
  • For more tips, see the Database Searching Guide (from CUL)
  • Google Scholar can be a helpful resource and powerful tool in locating research papers. However, it should not be the only resource consulted. Google Scholar uses artificial intelligence and proprietary algorithms to search through vast amounts of text in nearly every subject discipline. Keep in mind that other resources, such as those found in Barnard Libguides, may be more targeted and curated for researching within a particular field.

Top Databases for Scholarly Literature, including Articles, Conference Papers, etc.

TIPS: 

1. Limit searches to review articles when possible

2. Utilize thesauruses to focus your search with targeted terminology

3. For most recent publications, limit search results to specific years

  • Annual Reviews: Reviews of topics in biomedical, physical and social sciences published as annual journals
  • CINAHL: CINAHL provides indexing for close to 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
  • MEDLINE: The U.S. National Library of Medicine premier bibliographic database, containing millions of references to journal articles in the life sciences, with a concentration on biomedicine.
    There are three different interfaces to the same data: MEDLINE in EBSCOhost | MEDLINE in Ovid | MEDLINE in Web of Science.
  • Pubmed is a version of MEDLINE which is free to the public. 
  • Nature Reviews: Disease Primers: "‚ÄčPrimers have a modular structure, covering epidemiology; disease mechanisms; diagnosis, screening and prevention; management; and quality of life. Authored by an international panel of academic scientists, translational researchers and clinicians, new Primers are published every week."
  • Scopus: Indexing, abstracting and citation linking for journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences
  • Web of Science: Scholarly articles in all disciplines, useful for finding the most highly-cited articles, for examining the references in an article, or for determining if any articles have cited a specific article or book.