EAAS 2844: Culture, Mental Health and Healing in East Asia

2013 dissertation hosted on the Internet Archive. The bibliography is especially helpful with finding additional research on culture bound syndromes in Japan and Asia.

edited by the International Cultural Foundation

Ryu, Tongshik; translated by Moon, Jeong-il

Request via Interlibrary Loan

무당의 신병과 신들림 / 양종승, 한국무속학 2000 from the journal: Korean Shanmanism, by the Association for korean Shamanistic Studies

한국 무속의 '신병'에 대한 진단 분류연구 / 서동혁 신경정신의학 1996

Strong collection of Traditional Chinese Medicine digitized rare books held at Princeton. *Note, once you pinpoint a title, it's viewable from the first page to the last.

"The project for the Scripta Sinica database began in 1984. The first aim of this project was to digitize all documents essential to research in traditional Sinology. Secondly, a full-text database was established for academic research. Until present, Scripta Sinica is the largest Chinese full text database to encompass an enormous breadth of historical materials of this scale. More than 1,540 titles and 849,689,381 characters of materials pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics have been included in the database and have been categorized with meticulous care. The Scripta Sinica database contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history. In the future, we will continue with the digitalization of more historical materials, and add new features to the system. We hope to provide scholars, students, and the general public with an excellent full-text database and search engine for the study of Chinese history and culture."

"Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books is a comprehensive large-scale ancient books database, successively ranked as the key project of Ancient Books Committee of National University and the key national electronic publication. It collects important works from Pre-Qin Period to the Republic of China, including handed-down masterpieces, basic literatures of various disciplines, and specia works of shortage make-up effect. By adopting Erudition’s particular digital technology, each ancient book is provided with a digitalized full text with the original image of one or two rare editions. The database incorporates a total of 10,000 kinds of books containing 170,000 volumes, and 12,500 versions containing 200,000 volumes. There are 1.7 billion characters in full texts and 12 million pages of images, with a total data of 330G. Covering all of Chinese culture and history, the database holds as much content as 3 sets of Si Ku Quan Shu (Imperial Collection of Four), so it is the largest digital publication of Chinese ancient books throughout the world and also the biggest collection of classics of successive dynasties in the history of China."

"Database of Chinese Classics Ancient Books is a comprehensive full-text searchable database of large-scale classical Chinese literature. Divided into 4 sub-databases, 20 major categories, and 100 detailed sections. It carefully selects important classical works, including enduring classics, fundamental literature in various disciplines, and rare and esoteric works. Each work is transcribed in its entirety from the best available edition, supplemented by one or two precious version images for textual reference. The database contains a total of 10,000 books, 180,000 scrolls; 14,650 editions, 260,000 scrolls; 13 million pages of images, and 1.9 billion characters of text. Its coverage spans all of Chinese history and culture, equivalent to the content of the entire Siku Quanshu (Four Treasures of the Scholarly Writings)."