LibGuides: SPAN 3454: Vice and Virtue: Getting Started

About This Guide

In this guide, you'll find resources to help you with your research for the Spanish and Latin American Cultures course SPAN 3454 Vice and Virtue.

Resources to research background and contextual information on your topic and the approaches you might be bringing to your research (see links below)
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating articles, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles
Approaches to finding primary sources
Resources for citing your sources and writing
Guidelines for getting required course texts for free via the Library

Reference Resources

Latin American Women Writers: an Encyclopedia by María Claudia André (Editor); Eva Paulino Bueno (Editor)
ISBN: 9781317726340
Publication Date: 2014-01-09
Latin American Women Writers: An Encyclopedia presents the lives and critical works of over 170 women writers in Latin America between the sixteenth and twentieth centuries.
The Cambridge History of Latin American Women's Literature by Ileana Rodríguez (Editor); Mónica Szurmuk (Editor)
ISBN: 9781107085329
Publication Date: 2015-11-12
The Cambridge History of Latin American Women's Literature is an essential resource for anyone interested in the development of women's writing in Latin America.
A Companion to Latin American History by Thomas H. Holloway
ISBN: 9781444338843
Publication Date: 2010
Features 28 chapters covering major themes and areas in the history of Latin America. All entries are written by scholars in the field, with extensive bibliographies of sources referenced.
Latin American history by editor in chief, William Beezley
ISBN: 9780199366439
Publication Date: 2014
Features over 390 fully researched and cross referenced articles on various themes and figures in Latin American history. All articles include bibliographies of sources cited.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature by Maureen Ihrie; Janet Perez
ISBN: 0313293465
Publication Date: 2002-11-30
Spanish literature includes some of the world's greatest works and authors. This reference looks at the literature of Spain from the perspective of women's studies.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
provides a fully searchable bilingual dictionaries, including a Spanish-English and English-Spanish dictionary online, with supplementary resources in Spanish language history, culture, and colloquialisms.

Real Academia Española
provides a strong collection of online Spanish language resources covering Spain and Latin America, including historic and regionally specific dictionaries and corpuses.