LibGuides: AHIS 3698: American Monument Cultures: News

Conducting Newspaper Research

Columbus Rallies End in Clash Here: Fascists leaving Exercises at Circle Battle Anti-Fascists at Maine Monument. New York Times. October 13, 1935. p.1.

Historic Newspaper Research

You can find many historic newspaper collections (US and international) in Columbia Library's collections, but the library's holdings are by no means complete. You may also want to search for digitized local papers in the collections of public libraries nearest the monument.

Some things to consider

Historical newspapers contain the biases and perspectives of their time
Newspapers are created with particular audiences in mind
When researching a monument in the news you should consider widening your scope beyond the dates of construction
The name of the monument may have shifted over time

Finding Newspaper Databases

Searching for Newspaper Databases in CLIO

You can search for newspaper collections from around the world by selecting "Databases" from the navigation list on the left, and then "Newspapers" in "Browse by Resource Type." Make sure you don' have any search terms in the search box when you begin. You can limit newspapers by language, region, or era in the left navigation to narrow your search. You can also follow the link to the Database Search here.

Selected Newspaper Databases

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
African American periodicals, 1825-1995 enables users to search many periodicals by and about African Americans. The collection is based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998). Drawn from holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society, African American Periodicals ranges over more than 150 years of American life, from slavery during the Antebellum Period to the modern era.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles. Part of the America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the world.
Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, journals of the alternative and independent press. Includes titles such as Anarcho-Syndicalist Review, Chicago Reader, Dissent, Off Our Backs, Poverty and Race.
American Indian Newspapers
Presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and British Columbia, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

Brooklyn Newsstand
Brooklyn Newsstand is a newspaper digitization initiative between Brooklyn Public Library's local history division -- the Brooklyn Collection -- and Newspapers.com. This partnership gives the public free access to the full run of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper, which was published from 1841 to 1955, as well as Brooklyn Life, a society magazine published from 1890 to 1931.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Sun (1837-1985), Boston Globe, Call and Post (1934-1991), Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), Irish Times (1859-2009), Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Scotsman (1817-1950). Every page in PDF files.
Black Newspapers
Full text and full-image articles from major African American newspapers including but not limited to the Atlanta Daily World, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, and the Chicago Defender.

WNYC at Digital Public Library of America
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions. This link takes you directly to their WNYC collection.

World Newspaper Archive
Searchable collection of historical African, Latin American, and South Asian newspapers from around the world from the 19th and 20th centuries.

AHIS 3698: American Monument Cultures

Free Subscription to the New York Times!

Free Digital Subscription to the New York Times!

Times Machine

Research Librarian