Other Useful Guides:
You can book and appointment with me by using the "Schedule Appointment" button in my profile box on the left or go to https://barnard.libcal.com/appointments/mwisner.
Image: Tony Webster, Christopher Columbus Statue - Minnesota State Capitol, Photograph, June 10, 2020. Flickr.com. https://flic.kr/p/2jaM4EF.
The New York City Parks Department's Permanent Art and Monuments Database offers reliable tombstone information to help you begin your search. As stewards of all the monuments in New York City, this database is a verified source for basic information on your monument.
As the world's largest encyclopedia, Wikipedia's coverage is vast. You are more likely to find articles on obscure topics in Wikipedia than you would 
anywhere else. But is Wikipedia accurate? While Wikipedia can be edited by anyone in the world (including you!), scholarly encyclopedias like Encyclopedia Britannica are written and edited by experts in their fields. However, 2005 study in the journal Nature weighed the accuracy of science articles on Wikipedia against the more scholarly Encyclopedia Britannica, Wikipedia was found to be nearly as accurate in the 42 articles investigated. Encyclopedia Britannica refuted these claims. When using Wikipedia, or any encyclopedia for that matter, it is wise to verify what you find.
Check the citations, recommended resources and external links to guide you to more scholarly work.
Similar to Wikipedia, these resources provide an overview on a given topic, but the authors are experts in the fields they are covering. Below you will find a few general encyclopedia collections with coverage across a wide variety of fields.
[image] Suze Meyers, Feminist Wikipedia, 2016.
