LibGuides: Architecture: Getting Started

Using this Guide

(Detail) Byron Company (New York, N.Y.). ca. 1900. [Skyline of the Battery from the Water.]. Museum of the City of New York. http://library.artstor.org/asset/AMCNYIG_10313482925.

Welcome to my architecture research guide!

Here you will find resources to help you with your architecture research. Use the side navigation to find:

Resources to find background information on your topic (this page)
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles, reviews, and newspaper articles
Sources for finding high quality images
Resources for citing your sources and writing in architecture

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, you can make an appointment by clicking on the "Schedule Appointment" button on my profile box, or email me at mwisner@barnard.edu.

Best bets for architectural research:

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location and includes information on architecture.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Created by Avery library, Avery Index is the most comprehensive database for conducting research in architecture.
ARTstor
Please note that Artstor will be merging with Jstor as of 08/01/2024.

Artstor is a searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data from museum, archives, galleries and libraries from around the globe. ARTstor documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

Reference Resources for Architecture

Arch Daily
An online database of architectural projects and images.
Dynamic National Archive
A searchable database documenting the work of women architects and designers who have contributed to the places and spaces of the United States.

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. It contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 14,000 structures and places. Though primarily a building database, you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more.

Architecture

Research Librarian

Video: Boolean Operators

Using this Guide

Welcome to my architecture research guide!

Here you will find resources to help you with your architecture research. Use the side navigation to find:

Best bets for architectural research:

Reference Resources for Architecture