LibGuides: ARCH 1010: Design Futures: New York City: Articles and Data

Science Journals

PubMed
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles dating back to the 1950s.
SciFinder
(to register use this link: columbia.edu/cgi-bin/cul/resolve?clio6702921.999)
Provides access to the Chemical Abstract Service databases of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, to the Registry database from CAS, and to Medline.
Scopus
Excellent source for citation searching or finding original articles in chemistry.
SpringerLINK
Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal titles as well as journals from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics. Includes the International Journal of Life Cycle Assessment.
Web of Science Core Collection
Scholarly articles in all disciplines including chemistry. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify, and for various kinds of citation analysis.

Materials Science Journals

MATERIALS netBASE
Online library of materials science texts, references, and handbooks.
Materials Research Database
"Bibliographic coverage of serial and non-serial literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Materials Science supplements the database with access to millions of indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature."-

Resources Recommended by your Professor

Gabi Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) Database
Gabi has developed the largest internally consistent LCA databases available on the market. GaBi Databases provide a reliable basis for strategic decision-making in the fast-changing business environment.
Carnegie Mellon Economic Input-Output Life-Cycle Assessment
The Economic Input-Output Life Cycle Assessment (EIO-LCA) method estimates the materials and energy resources required for, and the environmental emissions resulting from, activities in our economy.
National Renewable Energy Laboratory: U.S. Life Cycle Inventory Database
This database provides individual gate-to-gate, cradle-to-gate and cradle-to-grave accounting of the energy and material flows into and out of the environment that are associated with producing a material, component, or assembly in the U.S.
United Nations Life Cycle Initiative
The Life Cycle Initiative is a public-private, multi-stakeholder partnership enabling the global use of credible life cycle knowledge by private and public decision makers. Hosted by UN Environment, the Life Cycle Initiative is at the interface between users and experts of Life Cycle approaches. It provides a global forum to ensure a science-based, consensus-building process to support decisions and policies towards the shared vision of sustainability as a public good. It delivers authoritative opinion on sound tools and approaches by engaging its multi-stakeholder partnership (including governments, businesses, scientific and civil society organizations).
Australian National Pollutant Inventory: Substance Fact Sheet
The NPI contains data on 93 substances that are emitted to the environment. The substances included in the NPI have been identified as important because of their possible health and environmental effects.