LibGuides: ARCH 3901: Colonial Cities in the French Empire: Getting Started

Using this Guide

Resources to find background information on your topic (below)
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating scholarly and peer reviewed journal articles, reviews, and newspaper articles
Sources for finding high-quality images
Resources for citing your sources and writing in architecture

You can book and appointment with me by using the "Schedule Appointment" button in my profile box, or at https://barnard.libcal.com/appointments/mwisner.

Image: Pierre Laprade and Léon Jaussely; bas-relief by Alfred Auguste Janniot. Palais de la Porte Dorée, South Facade. 1931. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/ARMNIG_10313468015.

Arch Daily
An online database of architectural projects and images.
Dynamic National Archive
A searchable database documenting the work of women architects and designers who have contributed to the places and spaces of the United States.

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press. It contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 14,000 structures and places. Though primarily a building database, you will also find landscapes, infrastructure, monuments, artwork, and more.