LibGuides: Computer Science Resources: About

How to use this guide

This guide provides an overview of, and access to, computer science research resources available at Barnard College.

Not sure what you're looking for?

If you're trying to decide on a research area or narrow your research focus, try General Resources.
If you're looking for articles for research papers, lit reviews, or essays, try Databases and Ejournals.
If you like using Google Scholar to find articles, try optimizing your results with the Connect Google Scholar tab or Create Google Scholar Alerts.

Getting Your Bearings: Reading Computer Science Reports

Reading scientific research papers and distilling their main points can be a daunting task. These articles will instruct you on some practical approaches to reading and understanding research.

How to Read a Paper by S. Keshav
This is a multi-pass approach to reading and understanding scientific research papers.
How To Read And Understand A Scientific Article by Jennifer Raff
An approach that takes you through each section of a scientific primary source article.

General Sources: Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Looking for some basic information or a handbook? Check resources offering a broad overview of computer science:

Access Engineering from McGraw Hill
AccessEngineering delivers information content from a broad range of McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science
Browse and download this Encyclopedia of Computer Science to gather more information and a broad overview of computer science topics.
Computer and Information Security Handbook
Computer and Information Security Handbook, Third Edition, provides the most current and complete reference on computer security available in one volume.