LibGuides: Dance: Articles & Reviews

Recommended Databases for Journal Articles & Reviews

Interdisciplinary Journal Databases

Alternative Press Index
More than 300 alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
Humanities Full Text
Brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
ProQuest
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers: Atlanta Constitution, Baltimore Sun (1837-1985), Boston Globe, Call and Post (1934-1991), Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), Irish Times (1859-2009), Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Scotsman (1817-1950). Every page in PDF files.
ScienceDirect
Contains articles, reviews, book chapters, and more in scientific, technical, social science, humanities, and medical fields. Contents include abstracts, tables of contents, full text articles, and data-sets.

Discipline Specific Journal Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Indexes world's leading arts and humanities journals with selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals.
Human Kinetics Dance Technique
Featuring more than 500 videos and 800 audio clips alongside ebooks and images, Human Kinetics Dance Technique is a dynamic collection that presents instruction-focused material and fills in the gaps of dance in digital learning. Recently updated with newly published ebooks and video clips, the carefully curated content supports students developing their dance technique and provides instructors with valuable tools that can be implemented within their curriculum.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Contains content from more than 210 international periodicals and also indexes articles and obituaries appearing in the New York times and the Washington post. Includes approximately 200,000 records with 90,000 from the backfile (up to 1997). Performing Arts Periodicals Database contains indexing from more than 395 journal titles – over 160 of which are available in full text - including American Theatre, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, Opera News and more. Most records contain an abstract.

Key Dance Journals

American Journal of Dance Therapy
Contains the recent in dance/movement therapy theory, research, and clinical practice. Includes original contributions, case material, reviews, and studies by leading educators and practitioners in the field. Available via multiple databases. Peer-reviewed.
more...less...
Reflecting the dramatic growth of the profession over the last half-century, the journal offers articles on working with new populations, changing goals, innovative techniques, and new methods of training. It also examines and evaluates current professional issues, outcome research, and assessment tools.

AJDT is a forum encouraging dance/movement therapists as well as allied mental health professionals to test their theoretical premises and share novel ideas. It is a valuable resource for administrators, psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, and creative arts therapists in the disciplines of music, art, and drama.
Arts education policy review
presents discussion of major policy issues in arts education in the United States and throughout the world. Addressing education in music, visual arts, theatre, and dance, the journal presents a variety of views and emphasizes critical analysis. Its goal is to produce the most comprehensive and rigorous exchange of ideas available on arts education policy.
Contact Quarterly
Contact Quarterly, a vehicle for moving ideas, is an international journal of dance, improvisation, performance, and contemporary movement arts.
Dance Chronicle
Peer-reviewed research journal on a wide variety of Western and non-Western forms, including classical, avant-garde, and popular genres, often in connection with the related arts: music, literature, visual arts, theatre, and film.
more...less...
Encompasses research rooted in humanities-based paradigms: historical, theoretical, aesthetic, ethnographic, and multi-modal inquiries into dance as art and/or cultural practice.
Dance Research
The Journal of the Society for Dance Research, focusing on the study and practice of dance. Available on multiple databases. Peer-reviewed.
Dance Research Journal
International peer-reviewed dance scholarship from the Committee on Research on Dance. Available via several databases. NOTE: this publication was formerly known as CORD News.
The international journal of screendance
The International Journal of Screendance is an international, artist-led journal exploring the field of Screendance. Engages in rigorous critique grounded in both pre-existing and yet to be articulated methodologies from the fields of dance, performance, visual art, cinema and media arts, drawing on their practices, technologies, theories and philosophies.