LibGuides: Dance: Media

Finding and Playing CDS & DVDs

Finding Media (CDs, LPs, VHS, & DVDs)

Finding Music and Videos in CLIO

It's not always obvious what format a recording is in. The collection contains some LPs, LaserDisc, DVDs and VHS. LPs will include in their description the phrase "analog, 33 1/3 rpm" while CDs will be listed as being 4 3/4 in. The call numbers for recordings will also normally include their format. See screenshots below for examples.

Sound recordings can come in four formats in CLIO:

Music - Recording
Audio Recording (Non-muscial)
Online
Video

Playing CDs, DVDs, or VHS tapes

At Barnard

Barnard Library has portable CD/DVD drives that can be checked out at the circulation desk for four hours at a time. The drives work on both Macs and Windows, and connect via an attached USB cable. No software is required to use them! They can be used with a personal computer or a library lab computer.

The Barnard Library has four media viewing stations on the south side of the Milstein Center second floor (see floorplan) - these are able to play both VHS and DVDs.

Columbia: Butler Media Collections

Viewing stations are located in Butler 401 (the Periodicals & Microform Reading Room) and support the playback of multiple visual and audio formats. Equipment includes multi-standard VCRs, multi-standard and multi-code DVD players, audiocassette players, and a laserdisc/DVD/CD player. Two viewing stations are equipped with Blu-ray players.

Priority is given to patrons viewing course-related films.

Streaming Media

Caribbean Studies in Video: The Banyan Archive
Presents more than 1,000 hours of edited and unedited footage from the Banyan Production company, the first Caribbean enterprise to produce original TV content in the 1970s. Available for the first time in streaming format, their programs are filled with interviews of key personalities across disciplines; theater, music and dance performances; documentaries on rituals and cultural practices; political events and much more. This first release includes 150 hours of fully-indexed content and the reminder of the content will be indexed as well in subsequent updates.
BroadwayHD
Currently includes 19 of the full BroadwayHD individual videos of streaming performances, but will have up to 25 award-winning live Broadway plays and musicals curated especially for performing arts scholars
Dance in Video
Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions, interviews, coaching sessions, and documentaries by influential performers and companies from around the world. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips.
Ethnographic Video Online
Offers access to classic and contemporary ethnographic documentaries in streaming video. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
Online exhibit of brief video performance excerpts spanning from 1930s dance pioneers to today's most exciting artists recorded at Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival, Massachusetts. Browse videos by artists, genres, or era. This website is a public project of the Virtual Pillow initiative which aims to build audiences and appreciation for dance and Jacob's Pillow.

Jerome Robbins Dance Division Audio and Moving Image Archive
Explore the Dance Division's digitized moving image and audio recordings.

kweliTV
"Kweli means 'Truth' in Swahili. kweliTV celebrates global Black stories and amplifies Black storytellers from North America, Africa, Latin America, the Caribbean, Europe, Asia and Australia. Our mission is to curate and create content that is a true reflection of the global Black experience that’s oftentimes missing in traditional media."
Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video collection with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. Users may create their own playlists and custom video clips.

Numeridanse
Numeridanse offers free access to filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, dance videos. Many genres are showcased here: butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, performance, etc.

OntheBoards.TV
Provides access to films of full-length performances by artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.
UbuWeb
Important online repository for avant-garde arts, including music, film and video, poetry, writing. It has working relationships with Anthology Archives, WFMU, Roulette.org, and other NYC-area experimental music and art organizations. UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts.