LibGuides: Economics: Data and Statistics

United States economic data and statistics

ALFRED (Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history.
data.census.gov
This is the new platform for accessing recent Census Bureau data. FYI, the Census Bureau stopped releasing new data in American FactFinder (AFF) at the end of June 2019 and transitioned to data.census.gov for data releases formerly on AFF.
data.gov
Browse data sets by topic, or search the data catalog. You can limit your results to geospatial data sets. Federal and non-federal (state, county, municipal, etc.) data sources are available.
Data Sources from American Economic Association (AEA)
Links to some of the most useful and popular economics data sources, categorized by data type
FRED
FRED compiles macro data from a variety of government and other sources. FRED is a database of over 383,000 economic time series from 82 sources. You can download data in Microsoft Excel and text formats and view charts of data series.
General Social Survey (GSS)
General Social Survey (GSS) contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings.
GRID - Global Repository of Income Dynamics
The Global Repository of Income Dynamics—GRID—is an open-access international database that provides a wealth of micro statistics on income inequality and income dynamics at the individual level. All statistics in the database have been computed from administrative records data on earnings histories from each country and harmonized for comparability. As of Nov. 2022, there are 13 countries in GRID: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Norway, Spain, Sweden, the UK, and the US. The plan is to expand the coverage of GRID to 25+ countries in the very near future.

Historical Statistics of the United States
A compendium of quantitative data series covering areas ranging from the demographic trends and characteristics (in volume A) to government revenues and outlays by level and international trade and finance (in volume E).

IPUMS USA
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) provides demographic and historical research using U.S. Census microdata. They do request that you "Use it for GOOD -- never for EVIL".
Prices and Wages by Decade
This guide, managed by Marie Concannon of the University of Missouri Library's Government Information Department, points to consumer prices and wages reported in primary sources for each decade back to the 1700s. Whenever possible, they refer to retail price and wage averages as reported in government publications. When those are not available, they use figures listed in other contemporary sources such as commercial catalogs, travel guides and newspapers. This site is based on freely available historic resources, mostly from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis FRASER® digital library and the HathiTrust Digital Library. To understand the value of a historic price or wage in current dollars, they recommend the website MeasuringWorth.com.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is an authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Once provided free from the U.S. Census Bureau, now provided by ProQuest.
Social Explorer
Helps you visually analyze and understand demographic, election, health, environment and other data through the use of interactive maps and data reports.

U.S Economic Indicators
Prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee, provide economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.

International economic data and statistics

Data Sources from American Economic Association (AEA)
Links to some of the most useful and popular economics data sources, categorized by data type
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program Data
DHS are nationally-representative household surveys that provide data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutrition. You can find data on knowledge, attitudes, and behavior. Step-by-step guidelines for dataset users from registration to dataset analysis are available. Datasets are available for free after a simple registration process.

EIU Viewpoint
Database presents a global outlook with daily insights spanning politics, economics and market-moving topics including macroeconomic data on forecasts, as well as historic trends, including: country forecasts--nearly 200 countries' political and economic landscapes, nearly 80 major economies and industry and commodity analysis for six major industries in nearly 70 markets, including supply, demand and prices of 40 critical goods.
Provides access to several EIU publications. Information is presented as analysis, briefings, commentary, or forecasts. EIU Viewpoint covers the political, policy and economic outlook for nearly 200 countries and 26 sectors across six major industries, focusing on dynamics that could have an impact on your organization.
Global Financial Data
GFD (Global Financial Data) is a collection of historical financial and economic data covering 200 countries.

Global Findex Database
This is the world’s most comprehensive data set on how adults save, borrow, make payments, and manage risk. Launched with funding from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the database has been published every three years since 2011. The data are collected in partnership with Gallup, Inc., through nationally representative surveys of more than 150,000 adults in over 140 economies. The 2017 edition includes updated indicators on access to and use of formal and informal financial services. And it adds new data on the use of financial technology (fintech), including the use of mobile phones and the internet to conduct financial transactions.
GRID - Global Repository of Income Dynamics
The Global Repository of Income Dynamics—GRID—is an open-access international database that provides a wealth of micro statistics on income inequality and income dynamics at the individual level. All statistics in the database have been computed from administrative records data on earnings histories from each country and harmonized for comparability. As of Nov. 2022, there are 13 countries in GRID: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Norway, Spain, Sweden, the UK, and the US. The plan is to expand the coverage of GRID to 25+ countries in the very near future.

International Financial Statistics Online
International Financial Statistics (IFS) is available from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibrary. To access IFS, select "Series", then select "International Financial Statistics". Contains data from 1947 to the present.

Living Standards Measurement Study (LSMS)
This is a household survey program housed within the Survey Unit of the World Bank's Development Data Group that provides technical assistance to national statistical offices (NSOs) in the design and implementation of multi-topic household surveys. LSMS surveys have been conducted in dozens of countries around the world. The LSMS website hosts many of these surveys - for others, they provide links to the websites of the relevant national statistics offices.

OECD iLibrary
This is the online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).

Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID)
Panel Study of Income Dynamics (PSID) is the longest running longitudinal household survey in the world, starting in 1968 with a nationally representative sample of over 18,000 individuals living in 5,000 families in the United States. Information on these individuals and their descendants has been collected continuously, including data covering employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, education, and numerous other topics.
UN Data
UN Data provides statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. It includes descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data.
World Bank DataBank
The DataBank is a compilation of a number of World Bank data products, the most significant one being World Development Indicators. It includes time series data from as early as 1960.

Data archives

Harvard Dataverse
Housed at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS) at Harvard, this claims to host the world's largest collection of social science research. It holds data from many researchers and institutions in addition to Harvard.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is one of the largest repositories for social science data in the world. Among the many topics covered, you will find statistics on crime, education, demographics, elections, religion, and much more.

Open Data Portals

What are open data portals?

Some government entities make their data available to the public using open data portals. These portals may contain geospatial data sets to download.

How to find open data portal

You can search for these in your favorite internet search engine - try searching for the name of the place and "open data" or "open data portal".
DataPortals.org claims to be the most comprehensive list of open data portals in the world. It is curated by a group of leading open data experts from around the world - including representatives from local, regional and national governments, international organisations such as the World Bank, and numerous NGOs.

Barriers to open data portals

Open Knowledge International notes three major environmental constraints that cintribute to a lack of openness in government data sharing:

"1. Lack of capacity of government to maintain infrastructure and websites; incomplete and inaccessible published official information.
2. Limited open data knowledge from the respective government officials.
3. Limited capacity and open data knowledge of CSOs to take advantage or to ask for open data."

Some examples of open data portals

More data & statistics!

Need even more data sources? Check out the Barnard Library Social Science Data & Statistics Sources guide.

Economics

Empirical Reasoning Center (ERC)

Jennie Correia, Social Sciences Librarian

United States economic data and statistics

International economic data and statistics

Data archives

Open Data Portals

More data & statistics!