LibGuides: EDUC BC3044 Education and Social Change in Comparative Global Contexts: Education Articles & Databases

Education literature databases

Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
This database provides citations, abstracts and full text of articles in scholarly education periodicals and other publications.
Education Research Complete
This database provides citations, abstracts and full text for scholarly education journals and books.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an online library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, and contains citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in education periodicals and other publications. ERIC is available through a variety of platforms:
- ERIC via the National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance (NCEE)/Institute of Education Sciences (IES)/U.S. Department of Education - This is freely available for anyone to search. You might also need to search for the content in CLIO and/or Educat to locate the material in the Columbia Libraries collections. Learn more about the site's advanced search options.
- ERIC via EbscoHost - Access limited to Barnard/Columbia community; UNI is needed to access the database from off-campus. E-links will try to directly connect you to content in Columbia Libraries collections. In EBSCO, you can simultaneously search across ERIC, Education Full Text, and Education Research Complete.
- ERIC via ProQuest - Access limited to Barnard/Columbia community; UNI is needed to access the database from off-campus. E-links will try to connect you to content in Columbia Libraries collections. Thesaurus difficult to browse.

GenderWatch
This database includes full text works from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports from 1970 to present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. It is also very useful for seeing if other scholars have cited a book, article, etc. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link.
APA PsycINFO
The major database for psychology, providing citations and abstracts for the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Social Sciences Citation Index
This is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It is part of a larger set of databases called Web of Science. It links publications based on citations allowing you to search the "web" of communication surrounding a topic. You also can search Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Index simultaneously with the Social Science Citation Index - click on "MORE SETTINGS" to select the databases you want to search.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1963 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records for journal articles added after 1974 contain in-depth abstracts. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.

What Works Clearinghouse (WWC)
What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) from the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) within the U.S. Department of Education reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education. The goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions. They focus on the results from high-quality research to answer the question “What works in education?” Find more information about the WWC.

Featured education database

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an online library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, and contains citations, abstracts, and full-text for articles in education periodicals and other publications. In EBSCO, you can simultaneously search across ERIC, Education Full Text, and Education Research Complete. Select "Choose Databases" to search multiple databases at one time.