LibGuides: EDUC BC3044 Education and Social Change in Comparative Global Contexts: Citing and Writing

Writing and research methods

The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams; Joseph Bizup; William T. FitzGerald
ISBN: 9780226239569
Publication Date: 2016-10-19
This is a great book to refer to at any stage in the research process.

Research log
Try using a research log to keep track of what you've searched and what you want to try next. You can copy this to your Google Drive and adjust it to suit your needs.

SAGE Research Methods Core
SAGE Research Methods provides a comprehensive picture of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioral sciences. It includes more than 100,000 pages of SAGE book and reference material on research methods as well as selected material from SAGE journals.

Salsa Dancing into the Social Sciences: Research in an Age of Info-Glut by Kristin Luker
ISBN: 9780674031579
Publication Date: 2008-10-31

Little Green Books (quant research)
Little Green Books, SAGE’s popular Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, provide short and accessible texts on all kinds of quantitative methods. Providing clear statistical explanations, straightforward empirical examples, and ready-to-use procedures, these supplementary texts are appropriate for the individual researcher, and for any graduate-level, intermediate, or advanced statistics course across the spectrum of academic disciplines.
Little Blue Books (qual research)
Little Blue Books, SAGE’s popular Qualitative Research Methods series, provide short and accessible texts on all kinds of qualitative methods. Providing clear explanations, and commentary on both theoretical and practical considerations in the implementation of qualitative research, these supplementary texts are appropriate for the individual researcher, and for any graduate-level, intermediate, or advanced qualitative methods course across the spectrum of academic disciplines.

Literature Reviews & Annotated Bibliographies

Why conduct a literature review?

One of the first steps in a research project and it forms the ‘foundation for the research proper.’ Conducting a literature review allows the researcher to assess the ‘current state of play’, in other words, what is already known.
Useful in identifying research methods that have been employed to answer particular research questions.
Can also be a way of summarizing research in a specific area

Planning a literature review

Information and image from Bowers-Brown, T. & Stevens, A. (2010). Literature reviews. In Practical research and evaluation : A start-to-finish guide for practitioners (pp. 76-94). SAGE Publications Ltd, https://www.doi.org/10.4135/9781446268346

Literature Reviews - UNC Writing Center
This is a solid introduction to what literature reviews are and how to go about constructing one.
Literature reviews, from Practical Research and Evaluation : A Start-to-Finish Guide for Practitioners
Literature review sample - Excelsior OWL
Provides a sample literature review
Annotated Bibliographies - UNC Writing Center
This explains why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provides an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describes various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offers multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation.
Annotated Bibliography Sample - Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL)
You can find general tips for creating annotated bibliographies as well as a sample one in APA style.

Writing Literature Reviews by Jose L. Galvan; Melisa C. Galvan This useful guide educates students in the preparation of literature reviews for term projects, theses, and dissertations. The authors provide numerous examples from published reviews that illustrate the guidelines discussed throughout the book.
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781351858915
Publication Date: 2017-04-05

How to cite your sources

Citation Management Software
This is a Barnard Library guide to tools that help manage citations and build bibliographies, including Zotero, EndNote, and Mendeley.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL)
OWL has lots of general and subject-specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
Quick Guide to Data Citation
This is a handy resource from the International Association for Social Science Information Services Technology (IASSIST).

EDUC BC3044 Education and Social Change in Comparative Global Contexts

More popular methods

Librarian for History and the Humanities

Writing and research methods

Literature Reviews & Annotated Bibliographies

Why conduct a literature review?

Planning a literature review

How to cite your sources