LibGuides: ENTH 3139: Modern American Drama and Performance: Articles

Scholarly Databases

Searching the databases for secondary sources is often better done within the individual databases, rather than just CLIO Articles, as you can limit by discipline or subject focus, and don't see as many repeat entries.

Historical & Social Context

America: History and Life with Full Text
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Black Studies Center
"A fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975."
Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database, produced by National Information Services Corporation (NISC), combines NISC's popular Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
GenderWatch
This database includes full text works from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports from 1970 to present.

Performance Studies

Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Contains content from more than 210 international periodicals and also indexes articles and obituaries appearing in the New York times and the Washington post. Includes approximately 200,000 records with 90,000 from the backfile (up to 1997). Performing Arts Periodicals Database contains indexing from more than 395 journal titles – over 160 of which are available in full text - including American Theatre, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, Opera News and more. Most records contain an abstract.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs.

Literary Theory & Criticism

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online brings together up to 10 acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Multiple search options are combined with an engaging format that matches the look and feel of the print originals.
Literature Online (LION)
A fully searchable library of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, criticism, and key secondary sources.

General/Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, primarly peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts fof more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings.. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided.
Humanities Full Text
Brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
Project Muse
Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).

ENTH 3139: Modern American Drama and Performance

Ask a Librarian

Performing Arts Librarian

Scholarly Databases

Historical & Social Context

Performance Studies

Literary Theory & Criticism

General/Interdisciplinary Databases