FYWB 1119: Crossing Borders: The Americas

Throughout history, the functions and roles of borders have been continuously changing. They can only be understood in their context, shaped as they are by history, politics and power, as well as cultural and social issues. Borders are therefore complex spatial and social phenomena which are not static or invariable, but which are instead highly dynamic. This comprehensive volume brings together a multidisciplinary team of leading scholars to provide an authoritative, state-of-the-art review of all aspects of borders and border research. It is truly global in scope and, besides embracing the more traditional strands of the field including geopolitics, migration and territorial identities, it also takes in recently emerging topics such as the role of borders in a seemingly borderless world; creating neighbourhoods, and border enforcement in the post-9/11 era.

Feminism has dramatically influenced the way literary texts are read, taught and evaluated. Feminist literary theory has deliberately transgressed traditional boundaries between literature, philosophy and the social sciences in order to understand how gender has been constructed and represented through language. This lively and thought-provoking Companion presents a range of approaches to the field. Some of the essays demonstrate feminist critical principles at work in analysing texts, while others take a step back to trace the development of a particular feminist literary method. The essays draw on a range of primary material from the medieval period to postmodernism and from several countries, disciplines and genres. Each essay suggests further reading to explore this field further. This is the most accessible guide available both for students of literature new to this developing field, and for students of gender studies and readers interested in the interactions of feminism, literary criticism and literature.

Dramatic growth in the number of international borders has coincided in recent years with greater mobility than ever before - of goods, people and ideas. As a result, interest in borders as a focus of academic study has developed into a dynamic, multi-disciplinary field, embracing perspectives from anthropology, development studies, geography, history, political science and sociology. Authors provide a comprehensive examination of key characteristics of borders and frontiers, including cross-border cooperation, security and controls, migration and population displacements, hybridity, and transnationalism. A Companion to Border Studies brings together these disciplines and viewpoints, through the writing of an international collection of preeminent border scholars. Drawing on research from Africa, Asia, the Middle East, Europe and the Americas, the contributors argue that the future of Border Studies lies within such diverse collaborations, which approach comparatively the features of borders worldwide.

Features 28 chapters covering major themes and areas in the history of Latin America. All entries are written by scholars in the field, with extensive bibliographies of sources referenced.

Contains topic-based essays, geo-historical surveys of individual countries, critical biographies on individual writers, and critical summaries of representative works.

explains and contextualizes fifty-four key terms and theories, including some general concepts in cultural studies (e.g., body, deconstruction, ideology, postmodernism, power, queer theory) as they relate to research in Latin America, and some specific to the field of Latin American studies (e.g., anthropophagy, deterritorialization, lettered city). Each entry defines the term in question, explains its usages, discusses its etymology and the intellectuals who have made relevant contributions, and provides a bibliography of essential sources.

Features over 4,000 entries on more than 40 regions in Latin America and the Caribbean from 1920 to the present day.

Explores themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of the movements of human populations from prehistory to the present day, comprising over 500 A-Z entries, and a prehistory section featuring over 50 thematic essays Includes contributions from a global and multi-disciplinary author team, from historians and anthropologists, to political scientists, economists, and geneticists. Features illustrations, images, charts, and 50 maps in 5 Volumes

This comprehensive encyclopedia covers the effects that politics, foreign policy, and culture of Spain, Portugal, nations in the Americas have had on one another since 1492.

Features over 390 fully researched and cross referenced articles on various themes and figures in Latin American history. All articles include bibliographies of sources cited.

Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies. The core content includes: Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes ; the Encyclopedia of African American history ; Black women in America, 2nd ed ; and the African American national biography.

Features 150 definitions of key terms and concepts in postcolonial theory, with a brief introduction to postcolonial theory and a list of suggested further reading that includes the texts in which many of these terms originated Each entry includes the origins of the term, where traceable; a detailed explanation of its perceived meaning; and examples of the term's use in literary-cultural texts. Incorporates terms and concepts from multiple disciplines, including anthropology, literary studies, science, economics, globalization studies, politics, and philosophy.