LibGuides: HIST 3776: Mapping African Migrations: Getting Started

Course Guide for Mapping African Migrations

In this guide, you'll find resources to help you with your research for the course Mapping African Migrations:

Resources to research background and contextual information on your topic and the approaches you might be bringing to your research (see links below)
Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating articles, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles
Resources that will help you find maps and other geospatial history sources
Approaches to finding primary sources
Resources for citing your sources and writing in Africana Studies
Guidelines for getting required course texts for free via the Library

Please feel free to book an appointment with me on my calendar page, for further support with your research.

George Arents Collection, The New York Public Library. "Lagos, Nigeria." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47da-a308-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Encyclopedias and Other Reference Sources

Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History: A Multidisciplinary Encylopedia by edited by Richard M. Juang and Noelle Morrissette
ISBN: 9781851094417
Publication Date: 2008
This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with the African continent and diaspora. With contributions from a diverse group of international scholars from all sides of the Atlantic representing many different disciplines.
Africana by Kwame Anthony Appiah (Editor); Henry Louis Gates (Editor)
ISBN: 0195170555
Publication Date: 2005
More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic.
The Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration by Immanuel Ness (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9781444334890
Publication Date: 2013
Covers prominent themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of the movements of human populations from prehistory to the present day. Over 500 A-Z entries, and a prehistory section featuring over 50 thematic essays. Includes contributions from a global and multi-disciplinary author team, from historians and anthropologists, to political scientists, economists, and geneticists. Features illustrations, images, charts, and 50 maps
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Historiography - Methods and Sources by Thomas T. Spear
ISBN: 9780190698706
Publication Date: 2019
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Historiography: Methods and Sources examines how developments and changes in historical research methods have influenced the scholarship that historians produce, with an aim to build a theoretical foundation for the field, expanding the ways that Africa can be studied, and recovering the histories of the continent that often appear outside of the documentary record.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History by ed. Thomas Spear
ISBN: 0190277734
Publication Date: 2016
Includes well researched entries on a range of topics within African history. Each article begins with a summary and keywords, a well-organized main entry, and a closing section with recommended further reading and notes.