HRTS 3934: Seeking Sanctuary in New York City

This one-of-a-kind dictionary provides a comprehensive breakdown of terms employed in the discussion of international human rights law. In addition to a list of definitions, this innovative volume also includes an appendix featuring descriptions of major treaties, documents, and other important human rights instruments, along with references on how to locate them. Students and professors of international, human rights and humanitarian law will find this volume an indispensable resource, as will government officials and other practitioners working with human rights issues. Contents: Acknowledgements Guide to the Dictionary List of Abbreviations Definitions Appendix

The last two decades have witnessed an explosion of research on sexuality as the social sciences have worked to find new ways of understanding a rapidly changing world. Growing concern for issues such as population, women's and men's reproductive health, and the HIV and AIDS pandemic, has since provided new legitimacy for work on sexuality, health and rights. A detailed and up-to-date reference work, The Handbook of Sexuality, Health and Rights provides an authoritative overview of the main issues in the field today. Leading academics and practitioners are brought together to reflect on past, present and future approaches to understanding and promoting sexual health and rights. Divided into nine parts, it covers: Pioneering beginnings Language, discourse and sexual categories From sexuality to health The reproductive imperative How to have sex in an epidemic The choreography of sex The darker side of sex From sexual health to sexual rights Struggles for erotic justice This handbook surveys the state of the discipline and offers an examination and discussion of emerging, controversial and cutting edge areas. It is an essential reference for academics and researchers in the fields of sexuality studies, sexual health and human rights, and offers key reading for more advanced students.

The SAGE Handbook of Human Rights will comprise a two volume set consisting of more than 50 original chapters that clarify and analyze human rights issues of both contemporary and future importance. The Handbook will take an inter-disciplinary approach, combining work in such traditional fields as law, political science and philosophy with such non-traditional subjects as climate change, demography, economics, geography, urban studies, mass communication, and business and marketing. In addition, one of the aspects of mainstreaming is the manner in which human rights has come to play a prominent role in popular culture, and there will be a section on human rights in art, film, music and literature.   Not only will the Handbook provide a state of the art analysis of the discipline that addresses the history and development of human rights standards and its movements, mechanisms and institutions, but it will seek to go beyond this and produce a book that will help lead to prospective thinking.