LibGuides: Jewish Studies: Background Information

Recommended Reference Sources

Jewish Virtual Library
A comprehensive online Jewish encyclopedia containing more than 16,000 articles.
The Talmudic encyclopedia
features all thirty volumes of this key reference source on the halakhic topics of the Talmud. Users can search entries electronically using Roman or Hebrew letters. with notes and illustrations. Also knows as: Entsiḳlopedyah Talmudit. By Responsa

Encyclopaedia Judaica by Macmillan Reference U. S. A. Staff
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780028660974
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World by Norman Stillman
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9789004176782
Publication Date: 2010-07-12
covers Jewish history, religion, and culture from the seventh century to the present. Regions explored include Andalusia, North Africa, Turkey, the Arabian peninsula, Iran, and parts of Central and South Asia. In addition to alphabetized topical entries, the source features maps, links to relevant internet resources, and a list of current and historical Jewish journals published in the Islamic world (categorized by city of publication).

Encyclopedia of Jewish book cultures online
Being an encyclopedia on book cultures rather than book contents, this work places textuality and materiality of the book in the center of its investigation. The singularity of the Jewish book can only be understood in full if it is studied in its broader cultural and intercultural context. This encyclopedia does that by focusing on the paleographic features, intended function, cultural significance, readership, acceptance, and design of particular books and genres, as well as the producer-consumer relations involved in the making and circulating of books. It covers more than 2000 years of Jewish book cultures from all corners of the earth.

Resources on Women

Jewish women: a comprehensive historical encyclopedia
This encyclopedia seeks to make available to all who are interested in Jewish history and culture the varied accomplishments of Jewish women and their many contributions to the Jewish historical experience over the course of the past three millennia. In general reference works, Jewish women are most often not noted as Jews because their Jewishness is not considered relevant to their accomplishments.
Jewish Women and Music
A website dedicated to Jewish women's contributions in music.
Annotated Bibliography of Jewish Women in America
Split into introduction, and then by type (book, article, archives, etc).

America's Jewish Women by Pamela Nadell
Call Number: Butler HQ1172 .N33 2019
ISBN: 9780393651232
Publication Date: 2019-03-05
A groundbreaking history of how Jewish women maintained their identity and influenced social activism as they wrote themselves into American history.
Jewish Women in America by Paula E. Hyman (Editor); Deborah Dash Moore (Editor)
Call Number: Butler Ref R041.0296 J55
ISBN: 0415919363
Publication Date: 1997-11-05
A primarily biographical encyclopedia of American Jewish women. Their book contains 800 entries on women from all fields who lived from 1654 (when the first Jewish woman arrived in America) to the present and 110 topical essays about various organizations and subjects ranging from education to politics to the arts. Each biographical entry includes both an essay and a bibliography. In addition, the book has an alphabetical listing of entries, a classified list of biographical entries by type (activists, lawyers, nurses, etc.), a helpful annotated bibliography of archival resources, and an in-depth index.
Jewish American Women Writers by Ann R. Shapiro
Call Number: Barnard PS153.J4 J48 1994
ISBN: 0313284377
Publication Date: 1994-09-12
This reference explores the extraordinary achievement of Jewish American women novelists, poets, and playwrights who have written in English. Every effort was made to provide a representative selection of writers, and the final list was determined after consultation with specialists and scholars. The volume is composed mainly of entries arranged alphabetically by writer. The profiles provide a biography, bibliography, and survey of criticism for each author. Each also provides an analysis of the writer's work by a scholar in Jewish American literature, women's studies, or a related field.

Jewish Studies

Language Resources

Jewish Studies Librarian

Recommended Reference Sources

Resources on Women