LibGuides: POLS 3120: The Politics of Nature: Citing and Writing

How to cite your sources

The American Political Science Association (APSA) recommends the Chicago Manual of Style author-date style for all common publication types.

Here are some other citation resources:

Citation Management Software
This is a Barnard Library guide to tools that help manage citations and build bibliographies, including Zotero, EndNote, and Mendeley.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL)
OWL has lots of general and subject-specific writing tips and techniques, along with research advice and detailed citation and formatting standards for the APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2016
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
In the new edition, the MLA recommends one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01

Guidance on Data Citations
Guidance for authors wishing to create data and code supplements, and for replicators, from Social Science Data Editors
Quick Guide to Data Citation
This is a handy resource from the International Association for Social Science Information Services Technology (IASSIST).

Annotated Bibliographies - UNC Writing Center
This explains why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provides an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describes various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offers multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation.
Literature reviews - UNC Writing Center
This is a solid introduction to what literature reviews are and how to go about constructing one.

The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams; Joseph Bizup; William T. FitzGerald
ISBN: 9780226239569
Publication Date: 2016-10-19
This is a great book to refer to at any stage in the research process.

Research log
Try using a research log to keep track of what you've searched and what you want to try next. You can copy this to your Google Drive and adjust it to suit your needs.

SAGE Research Methods Core
Sage Research Methods provides a comprehensive picture of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioural sciences. It includes more than 100,000 pages of SAGE book and reference material on research methods as well as selected material from SAGE journals.