LibGuides: POLS 3120: The Politics of Nature: Environmental Law &amp; Policy

Environmental law guides

Thanks for Prof. Battistoni for many of these recommendations!

ELI-A Citizen's Guide To Using Federal Environmental Laws to Secure Environmental Justice
A handbook for using federal environmental statutes to address environmental injustice from the Environmental Law Institute
Columbia Law Library: International Climate Change Law Guide
This research guide includes resources and tips to begin your research into international climate change law and to stay up to date on developments in this important field. This guide does not cover the domestic law of the United States or other countries.
Georgetown Law Library: International Environmental Law Research Guide
This is an in-depth guide to researching international environmental law. Note that many of the links might lead to Georgetown Law Library login pages. You can search for these materials in CLIO to see if we have access from Columbia Libraries (or ask a a librarian).
Georgetown Law Library: Environmental Law Research Guide (U.S.)
Provides an overview of federal and state sources related to environmental law, including water law. Note that many of the links might lead to Georgetown Law Library login pages. You can search for these materials in CLIO to see if we have access from Columbia Libraries (or ask a a librarian).

Finding environmental laws & regulations

Thanks for Prof. Battistoni for many of these recommendations!

EPA Laws & Regulations
This provides documentation for current federal law & regulations.
Regulations.gov
This multi-agency website serves as an online clearinghouse for materials related to EPA rulemakings and is EPA's official on-line comment system. You can make comments and read the comments of others.
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public.
Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns.
govinfo
Govinfo provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the federal government.

ProQuest Congressional
Indexes information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register. Includes full text of Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present; full text of Congressional hearings, 1824-2003; full text of Committee Prints, 1830-2003; and full text of the Serial Set Collection with Maps, 1789-1969. For a complete description of contents, coverage, and update frequency, consult the online Help section.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers. Legislative Insight offers a research citation page that not only links to the full text of the associated primary source publications, but allows the user to do a Search Within from that very page that searches the full text of all the associated publications with one-click. Full-text publication types associated with a legislative history include the Public Law, all versions of enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, and committee hearings, reports, and documents. All of these publication types can be used in court to determine the intent of Congress in enacting legislation in cases where the statutory language is ambiguous. Other full-text publication types are included in our legislative histories to provide users with background material are committee prints, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications. Presidential signing statements are also included.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS Reports are reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events.

Finding case law

Thanks for Prof. Ayten Gundogdu for many of these recommendations!

Nexis Uni for Case Law
Under Guided Search, select "Cases" and then select your jurisdiction (federal or state). You can search by citation name or keyword/topic.
Google Scholar for case law
Find more information on what case law you can find in Google Scholar and a video tutorial on how to search for it here.
Justia
The law belongs to all of us, and Justia is proud to offer free access to federal and state court decisions, codes, and regulations. We also provide the full text of the Annotated US Constitution, as well as recent dockets and selected case filings from the US federal district and appellate courts.
FindLaw
FindLaw's Cases and Codes section contains resources and links for both state and federal laws. This includes resources pertaining to constitutions, statutes, cases and more. Run a search for case summaries or select a jurisdiction to browse applicable laws.
Oyez
This website contains a wide range of primary and secondary materials related to the U.S. Supreme Court. Of particular note, Oyez.com offers audio recordings of selected oral arguments.
Caselaw Access Project
The Caselaw Access Project is making all U.S. case law freely accessible online. With the Caselaw Access Project API (CAPAPI) and bulk data service, we can share 40 million pages of published U.S. court cases. Learn more about how to search here.
Refworld Collection of Case Law
Searchable database by keyword and country.

For more compilations of case law resources, check out these guides.

Free Sources of Case Law
From the Georgetown Law Library
How To Find Free Case Law Online
From the Library of Congress
Free Legal Research Resources
From the Harvard Law School Library

Finding court transcripts

Transcripts of Supreme Court cases are easily found online, but transcripts from more minor court proceedings can be harder to find. Here are some tips on places to search from a fellow student!