LibGuides: POLS 3410: Human Rights in a Diverse World: Articles

Recommended political science literature databases

Columbia International Affairs Online Journals
Provides working papers, research reports, policy briefs and more from university research institutes, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and foundations. This is a good place to look for analysis of recent events and current situations.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Provides full text access to information about women in over 190 countries, including journal and magazine articles, research reports, and fact sheets.
GenderWatch
This database includes full text works from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports from 1970 to present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. It is also very useful for seeing if other scholars have cited a book, article, etc. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link.
International Political Science Abstracts
IPSA provides citations and abstracts for political science journal articles and yearbooks, including literature in the field of international affairs.
PAIS Index
Features public affairs research, including references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical sources, research reports, conference proceedings, and publications of international agencies.
Policy Commons
The world's largest database for public policy, with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 20,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers on disciplines including agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, librarianship, etc.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Contains abstracts of books, scholarly journal articles, and major news magazine articles covering North American and international politics.

Database search tips

The general search tips for CLIO also apply to the article databases.
If you find an article or a book that is relevant, the bibliography/works cited page can be a useful road map to other relevant literature that was previously published.
If you find an article or a book that is relevant, you can use Google Scholar and some other databases to find out whether it was cited by other scholars after it was published. Search for the title of an article/monograph and search and click on "Cited by" to generate a list of publications that have referenced that source.
In many databases, you can narrow your results to scholarly publications only. Look for "limit to ... scholarly publications/peer-reviewed/refereed publications only" or similar language. This will help you find articles from journals that have gone through a rigorous peer review process.

Selected Human Rights journals

The Human Rights and Humanitarian Affairs Research Guide from Columbia University Libraries has a good list of recommended scholarly journals in human rights that you can browse or search.

POLS 3410: Human Rights in a Diverse World

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Jennie Correia, Social Sciences Librarian

Recommended political science literature databases

Database search tips

Selected Human Rights journals

Search CLIO for articles

CLIO Quicksearch