Skip to Main Content

POLS 3411: Building Peace

Prof. Severine Autesserre, Fall 2024

Related scholarly journals

Recommended databases for political science & other scholarly literature

Africa-Wide Information
Combines content from several databases in African Studies, including the Index to South African Periodicals, IBISCUS (The Africa Institute Database), Media Africa, and African Healthline . You can search through over 3.5 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, research reports, conference proceedings, grey literature, books, monographs, theses and dissertations, dating back as far as the 16th century, with many articles in full text.
Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Columbia International Affairs Online Journals
CIAO features a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Contemporary Women's Issues
Provides full text access to information about women in over 190 countries, including journal and magazine articles, research reports, and fact sheets.
EconLit
This is a good place to search for scholarly economics research. It provides access to economic research dating back to 1969 and contains journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full-text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature.
GenderWatch
This database includes full text works from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports from 1970 to present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. It is also very useful for seeing if other scholars have cited a book, article, etc. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link.
International Political Science Abstracts
IPSA provides citations and abstracts for political science journal articles and yearbooks, including literature in the field of international affairs.
PAIS Index
Features public affairs research, including references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical sources, research reports, conference proceedings, and publications of international agencies.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1963 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records for journal articles added after 1974 contain in-depth abstracts. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Contains abstracts and some full text of scholarly journal articles, books, and major news magazine articles covering North American and international politics.

Database search tips

The general search tips for CLIO also apply to the article databases.
If you find an article or a book that is relevant, the bibliography/works cited page can be a useful road map to other relevant literature that was previously published.
If you find an article or a book that is relevant, you can use Google Scholar and some other databases to find out whether it was cited by other scholars after it was published. Search for the title of an article/monograph and search and click on "Cited by" to generate a list of publications that have referenced that source.
In many databases, you can narrow your results to scholarly publications only. Look for "limit to ... scholarly publications/peer-reviewed/refereed publications only" or similar language. This will help you find articles from journals that have gone through a rigorous peer review process.

Search CLIO for articles