LibGuides: POLS 3411: Building Peace: Legal and Government Information

Legal and government information and analysis sources

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS Reports are reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events.

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
This online archive includes more than 80,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical US policy decisions.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline provides full text online access to 2,300 scholarly and legal journals. It's also a good source for a wide variety of official U.S. and international government documents, including all of the world's constitutions and all U.S. treaties.
ProQuest Congressional
Tracks information and publications produced by the United States Congress from 1789 to the present, including legislative histories and testimony from congressional hearings

UN Treaty Collection
This collection provides access to over 50,000 full text bilateral and multilateral treaties.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online
US Declassified Documents Online (USDDO) provides access to previously classified US government documents, particularly from the executive branch. The majority of the documents are presidential records. You can also find records from the Department of State, Department of Defense, Central Intelligence Agency, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Joint Chiefs of Staff, and other executive agencies. Materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. NOTE: This resource was previously called Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS).

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Greenbook) - Foreign Aid Explorer
This dataset is used to produce the "U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants" publication, known as the "Greenbook". The annual report to Congress on U.S foreign assistance flows is required by the Foreign Assistance Act, Section 634 and is the authoritative data set of U.S. foreign assistance. The annual update of the dataset contains data of United States Government (USG) foreign assistance since 1945. Foreign assistance is categorized as either economic assistance or military assistance. You can download the full dataset from USAID.
U.S. State Department Reports
Include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.