Political Science

Features a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from think tanks, university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

Includes full text from contemporary scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.

Google Scholar is very useful for seeing if a book, article, etc. has been cited by other scholars. Search on the title, and then follow the "Cited by ..." link.

HeinOnline provides full text online access to 2,300 scholarly and legal journals. It's also a good source for a wide variety of official U.S. and international government documents, including all of the world's constitutions and all U.S. treaties.

JSTOR provides the full text of back issues from core scholarly journals in sociology and other fields in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Please note that, generally, this database does not include issues published in the last few years. You can search just the political science journals in JSTOR by using the Advanced Search "NARROW BY DISCIPLINE AND/OR JOURNAL" feature.

Covers the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical sources, grey literature, research reports, conference proceedings, and publications of international agencies from over 120 countries. Topics include business, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, demographics, law and legislation, political science, public administration, finance, agriculture, education, and statistics.

The world's largest database for public policy, with millions of reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 20,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers on disciplines including agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, librarianship, etc.

Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It links publications based on citations allowing you to search the "web" of communication surrounding a topic. You also can search Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Index simultaneously with the Social Science Citation Index - select "MORE SETTINGS" to pick the databases you want to search.

This is a great place to start looking for scholarly journal articles. The database is devoted to North American and international politics.