LibGuides: SOCI 3246: Medical Sociology: Getting Started

About this guide

Welcome! This page highlights key resources for conducting effective research for Prof. Amy Zhou's course, Medical Sociology.

This guide highlights key resources for conducting effective information research in sociology, including the following:

Reference sources to find background information on your topic
Catalogs to search for books in print and online
Databases for locating scholarly journal articles
Medical and health news sources
Reliable sources of data and statistics
Guides for citing your sources and writing in sociology
Tips to to help keep textbook costs down

If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, please schedule a research consultation.

If you need assistance organizing, analyzing, or visualizing data sets, please visit the Empirical Reasoning Center (ERC).

Background information

Consult scholarly reference sources to get an overview of a topic, an introduction to a theory, definitions to discipline-specific terms, and more.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Bryan S. Turner (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521832908
Publication Date: 2006-08-14
The Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer; J. Michael Ryan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405183536
Publication Date: 2011-01-25
This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume. Contains over 800 entries from the whole breadth of the discipline Distilled from the highly regarded Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, with entries completely revised and updated to provide succinct and up-to-date coverage of the fundamental topics Global in scope, both in terms of topics and contributors Each entry includes references and suggestions for further reading Cross-referencing allows easy movement around the volume
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by Brigham Narins
ISBN: 9780028666716
Publication Date: 2019-09-01
Handbook of the Sociology of Health, Illness, and Healing by Bernice A. Pescosolido (Editor); Jack K. Martin (Editor); Jane D. McLeod (Editor); Anne Rogers (Editor)
ISBN: 9781441972590
Publication Date: 2010-12-21

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

The Palgrave Handbook of Social Theory in Health, Illness and Medicine by F. Collyer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781137355621
Publication Date: 2015-02-12
The SAGE Dictionary of Health and Society by Kevin White
ISBN: 0761941150
Publication Date: 2006-01-26

SOCI 3246: Medical Sociology

Health conditions & other topic ideas

Jennie Correia, Social Sciences Librarian

About this guide

Background information