LibGuides: SPAN 3990: Spanish and Latin American Cultures Senior Seminar (Spring 24)): Home

About this Guide

In this guide, you'll find resources to help you with your senior seminar research in Spanish and Latin American Cultures:

Places to find books in print and online
Databases for locating articles, including scholarly and peer-reviewed articles
Approaches to finding primary sources
Resources for citing your sources and writing
Guidelines for getting required course texts for free via the Library

Please feel free to book an appointment with me on my calendar page, for further support with your research.

Image: Richie Pérez Papers, 1918-2006. La Patria Es Una Mujer (The Homeland is a Woman) - Poetry Jam For Puerto Rican Political Prisoners: RiPe_b24_f04_0013_pg01. Center for Puerto Rican Studies Library & Archives, Hunter College, CUNY. Web. 21 Sep 2022.

Link to workshop slides

Reference Resources

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Provides access to biographical essays focusing on all genres and time periods of American and British literature and selected other literatures. Essays discuss the lives and careers of authors and summarize critical responses to their work.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
provides a fully searchable bilingual dictionaries, including a Spanish-English and English-Spanish dictionary online, with supplementary resources in Spanish language history, culture, and colloquialisms.
Oxford Reference Premium
Allows you to search across a range of specialized reference resources like encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. See how a term or concept is defined and understood across disciplines and areas of study!

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Latin American History
Publication Date: 2015-
A digital research encyclopedia that describes Latin American cultures, histories, and experiences from pre-Columbian to contemporary times. Includes images and some access to original sources.

Real Academia Española
collection of online Spanish language resources covering Spain and Latin America, including historic and regionally specific dictionaries and corpuses.