LibGuides: SPAN 3990: Spanish and Latin American Cultures Senior Seminar (Spring 24)): Newspapers, Magazines, and Other Periodicals

Newspapers, Magazines, and Other Periodicals

Below, you'll find some examples of digital collections and databases that give access to content from historical newspapers and magazines published in Latin America and Spain, as well as some periodicals from Latinx communities in the United States. With most of these collections, you have the option to limit your searches by date and place of publication and to search for the appearance of terms in the full text of the publication. For newspapers searchable in broader digital collections, you can also take a look at the Document Collections tab above this one.

Hemeroteca Digital
offers access to full color digitized historic newspapers and magazines, from Spain as well as a smaller selection of sources from Latin America, with well over 1000 titles in the collection. You can search the full text of these periodicals, or you can browse them by topic and title words. Coverage extends from the late 17th to the late 20th century.
Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de México
a virtual repository of digitized historic periodicals of Mexico. The digital collections were derived from materials belonging to the Fondo Reservado (special collections) of the Hemeroteca Nacional (National Newspaper Library). The Hemeroteca Nacional and the Biblioteca Nacional (Mexico’s National Library) are under the stewardship of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Mexico’s national university, and both the physical and digital collections are housed and maintained on campus.

Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals Online
This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.
Latin American and Caribbean Periodicals
Searchable and browseable collection of digitized newspapers, magazines, and journals published in Latin America, ranging from the late 1800s to mid 1900s. Hosted by the UCLA Library.
Latin American Newspapers. Series 1
Series 1 of a searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers. Once completed this collection will include 35 newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.
Latin American newspapers. Series 2
Series 2 of a searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers. Once completed this collection will include 35 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922 in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Guyana, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Venezuela.
Latin American Newsstream
Full-text of Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.