LibGuides: Theatre: Articles & Reviews

Recommended Databases for Journal Articles & Reviews

The listed databases include both historical and modern content, scholarly articles, trade magazines, and newspapers. Each database has a description of the kind of content it contains.

Alternative Press Index
More than 300 alternative, radical, and left journals, newspapers, and magazines and includes selected abstracts from research journals. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Contains content from more than 210 international periodicals and also indexes articles and obituaries appearing in the New York times and the Washington post. Includes approximately 200,000 records with 90,000 from the backfile (up to 1997). Performing Arts Periodicals Database contains indexing from more than 395 journal titles – over 160 of which are available in full text - including American Theatre, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, Opera News and more. Most records contain an abstract.
Humanities Full Text
Brings full text (starting 1995) plus abstracts and bibliographic indexes (starting 1984) of noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser known specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs.
JSTOR
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
ProQuest
Contains citations and full-text articles from several thousand magazines, journals, newspapers, etc. covering many subjects in academic & professional disciplines. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Contains full-text and full-image articles from major American newspapers, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Locate the review of a production and then click/flip through the pages of the publication to identify relevant historical and cultural events.
Routledge Performance Archive
Contains interviews with key figures in theatre history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist actor trainers from around the world; unique footage direct from the legendary practitioners themselves; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions; and documentaries previously unavailable to global audiences. The video material spans more than fifty years of documented work direct from practitioners and specialists.

Interlibrary Loan for Articles

If we don't have access to an article or book chapter you need, you can place an interlibrary loan (ILL) request for it! Including as much information about the resource as you can, especially the ISSN, will help speed the process.

There are two ways to place an ILL request for an article:

1. From the e-link page of an article (click images for larger versions)

2. Via the ILL page on Columbia's site (click images for larger versions). Choose your institution, and then log-in with your UNI to request an article. If it's your first time logging in, you'll have to fill out some contact information initially.