Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Management Software

A guide for tools to help manage citations and build bibliographies

EndNote Online Overview

EndNote Online is the online counterpart to EndNote on the desktop and can be synced with the desktop version. It is a produced by Clarivate Analytics, the owners of the database Web of Science. It is a commercial program that Columbia licenses for the members of the Barnard/Columbia community.

To register for an EndNote web account, go to endnote.com, click on “EndNote online login” in upper right, then create an account. This will enable you to  access your library of references from other devices, and collaborate with other users.

EndNote Online Features

  • Sync your EndNote desktop library with your EndNote Online account. With your EndNote desktop library open, select the "Sync" button. You will be prompted to either create an account or log-in to your preexisting EndNote Online account.
  • References can also be synced to the EndNote iPad app.
  • EndNote Online has two plug-ins: one for capturing references from your browser window and one that links your online library to Microsoft Word.

EndNote Online Considerations

  • EndNote Online can be taken with you when you leave Barnard, as there is a free EndNote Basic version.

Using EndNote online

Add references

Option 1: Enter manually

  • From the Collect drop-down, click on "New Reference".
  • From the reference type drop-down, select the type of reference.
  • Enter the citation information.
  • Select "Save"

Option 2: Connect to Columbia's Online Catalog (or other databases)

  • From the "Collect" drop-down, select "Online Search".
  • Select library catalog: "CLIO".
  • Select "Connect".
  • Do your search!

Option 3: Direct Export from your favorite database

  • Conduct a search and select references to export to Endnote Online.
  • Locate and select either "Export", "Send to", "Download", or "EndNote Online". 
    • Follow the prompted instructions.

Option 4: Import references

  • Conduct search, select the references you want to save; use "Save" to save your references using the RIS type.
    • Remember where you saved it!
  • Go to EndNote Online.
  • From the "Collect" drop-down, select 'Import references".
    • Browse to your saved file.
    • Select the "Import Option" drop-down.
    • Select your source (i.e.: which database you got the references from).
    • Select the "To" drop-down to select the folder where you want the references.
  • Select "Import".

Write a paper

  • Download Cite While You Write Plug-In.
    • From the "Format" drop-down, click on "Cite While You Write Plug-In".
    • Follow the prompted instructions.
  • With your document open, place cursor where the citation should appear.
    • In the EndNote Web Toolbar, select "Find Citation".
    • Enter a term in the Search field to find the reference(s) to insert.
    • Select the "Search" button.
    • Select reference (to select multiple references: Windows > use the "control" key; Mac > use the "command" key)
  • Select "Insert".

Create a bibliography

  • From the "Format" drop-down, select "Bibliography"
    • References: select references to put in the bibliography.
    • Bibliographic Style: select the appropriate style.
    • File format: select appropriate file format.
  • Select  either "Save", "Email", or "Preview & Print"