Citation Management Software

• EndNote is available free to members of the Barnard/Columbia community.
• EndNote comes in two versions: a desktop version that you download onto your computer, and a web version, and you can sync your references from the desktop to the web version.
• To download the desktop version onto your computer, go to the Reference & Citation Management page.  If you have an older version of EndNote, you should uninstall it first.
• On a PC, you must download both the EndNote installer and the necessary license file, License.dat, and save them into the same folder before you run the installer program.  You must delete any older version of the the License.dat file that you have in the folder (this is not mentioned in the CUIT instructions).
• To register for an EndNote web account, go to endnote.com, click on “EndNote online login” in upper right, then create an account. This will enable you to  access your library of references from other devices, and collaborate with other users.
• Set up Cite While You Write so that you can insert references from your EndNote library into papers written in Microsoft Word.  If you use Apple Pages for word processing, download the Pages EndNote Plug-in.

• For technical troubleshooting, contact EndNote directly.
• Vendor Tutorials

EndNote is a commercial citation management software package produced by Clarivate Analytics, the owners of the database Web of Science.  It is a commercial program that Columbia licenses for the members of the Barnard/Columbia community.

EndNote Features

• Storing an unlimited amount of references and attached documents
• Team access to a single library
• Find Full Text functionality, which digs through Yale’s databases for you to find articles
• A wide variety of citation styles
• Compatibility with Microsoft Word and Apple Pages to insert citations and bibliographies
• Deduplication of libraries, merging identical references into one record
• Free vendor support and troubleshooting
• Direct export of references from resources such as PubMed and Web of Science
• Library lives on local device, meaning you can access your materials without internet connection

EndNote Considerations

• Be sure to back up your library manually or create a Sync account in order to not lose your library if your computer fails
• The full functionality of EndNote is not offered in its online iteration, so if you do work from a variety of machines, a different tool may better suit your needs
• As EndNote Desktop is a paid, licensed tool, you will not have access to newer versions of the software after you leave Barnard.

Add references

Option 1: Enter manually

• From the References drop-down, click “New Reference”. You can also use the icon with a document and plus sign.
• Select your material type, with options ranging from Aggregated Database to Web Page.
• Enter the information you have, save your reference and close out of the window.

Option 2: Direct export from your favorite database

• Conduct a search in your favorite database.
• Select which resources you want to export. After you’ve checked your boxes, locate and click ‘Export’, ‘Send to’ or ‘Download’.
• Select “Citation Manager”, or sometimes there will even be a specific option for EndNote. To be compatible with EndNote, you’ll need to download file formats such as .nbib, .ciw or .txt with a filter installed.
• Open the downloaded file and enjoy your new citations!

Email an EndNote library

• You can save an EndNote library (the .enl file as well as its associated .DATA folder and all of its contents) to a single compressed .enlx file in order to easily back up your library or send a copy to a colleague. Later, you can easily restore (unzip) the compressed library with EndNote.
• To do this, open the library in EndNote, go to File - Compressed Library (. enlx), and click on Create.
• Use your email program to send the .enlx file.
• When you open the file in EndNote, it will extract the .enl file and the .DATA folder automatically.

Write a paper

• Open your document.
• Locate the EndNote toolbar, generally located on the right side of the ribbon.
• When it's time to insert a references, select "Go to EndNote".
• Select the citation that supports your claims by clicking on it once to highlight.
• Locate the "Insert citation" icon and click on it.
• The in-text citation and reference will appear in your document.
• Is your citation in the wrong style? Click on the "Style" drop-down and select another style.

Create a bibliography

• Pick your preferred output style.
• Select "Output Style" drop-down
• Pick the references you want by clicking to highlight.
• To select all: Edit > Select All.
• From the Edit drop-down, select "Copy Formatted".
• Open a blank document.
• Paste.
• Voila!