HIST 3658: Jewish Tales from Four Cities

This resource from the Department of City Planning offers resources on a variety of topics related to land use, community planning and budget processes and demographic trends for all of New York City’s 59 community boards.

This is a great source for empirical research and data on subsidized housing, land use, real estate development and and other useful New York City neighborhood and housing data. From NYU's Furman Center for Real Estate and Urban Planning.

The NYC Department of Education makes available a variety of data sets and reports on schools, enrollment, graduation, test results, and more.

The New York State Department of Labor provides data and statistics on employment/unemployment, earnings, industries, and employers/firms for the New York City Region.

This resource from the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene allows you to create reports, tables, charts and maps on a variety of topics including environmental sustainability, health behavior & outcomes, food & drink, built environment, air & water quality, pests, and more.

This resources from the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene is an interactive tools designed to provide users with health data from a variety of surveys and sources.

An ongoing series of data reports on immigration and the foreign-born population in New York City. It features analysis of demographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau’s American Community Survey, as well as other federal and city administrative data. There is an interactive online map showing the largest immigrant groups in each of the City’s neighborhoods as well as where the City’s top ten largest immigrant populations live.

Provides access to U. S. Census Bureau population information for New York City for neighborhood tabulation areas (NTAs) and census tracts.

This survey is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau for the city of New York to comply with New York state and New York City’s rent regulation laws. The rental vacancy rate is the primary focus of the survey. Other important survey data on housing include rent regulatory and homeownership status, structural conditions, unit maintenance and neighborhood conditions; crowding, rents, utility costs, type of heating fuel, rent/income ratios; owner purchase price and estimated value, mortgage status and interest rate; number of stories and units in building, cooperative/condominium status, wheelchair accessibility, and much more about housing and households in New York City.

NYC Open Data makes the wealth of public data generated by various New York City agencies and other City organizations available for public use. As part of an initiative to improve the accessibility, transparency, and accountability of City government, this catalog offers access to a repository of 1,500+ government-produced, machine-readable data sets. The data sets are available in a variety of machine-readable formats and are refreshed when new data becomes available. Data is presented by category, by City agency, or by other City organization.

CBP is an annual series from the U.S. Census Bureau that provides subnational (county/borough, zip code, congressional district, Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas) economic data by industry. This includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.

Browse data sets by topic, or search the data catalog. You can limit your results to geospatial data sets. Federal and non-federal (state, county, municipal, etc.) data sources are available.

Make data visualizations using public US Government data.

Quickly visualize demographic and lifestyle information about a neighborhood.

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present.

UN Data provides statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. It includes descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data.

The DataBank is a compilation of a number of World Bank data products, the most significant one being World Development Indicators. It includes time series data from as early as 1960.

World Council on City Data Open Data Portal is based on the first international standard on city data — ISO 37120. The WCCD Open City Data Portal allows you to explore, monitor, and compare member cities on up to 100 service performance and quality of life indicators.